Balboa Park History 1919
January, 1919, Park Superintendent’s Report; Material sold from the Hawaiian Village during January amounted to $736.25 and material to the value of $227.51 was used in construction in the Park, chiefly at the new comfort station.
January 1, 1919, San Diego Union. No Annual Edition.
January 1, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:1-5. San Diego proud of record for 1918; starts New Year confident of success.
At Balboa Park the navy has maintained a training camp which in location, natural advantages and conveniences has been second to none in the United States.
January 1, 1919, San Diego Union, Classified, 9:4. Organ recitals this afternoon.
January 3, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:6. Bids for construction of seven buildings at Marine Brigade site in San Diego Bay to be asked.
January 4, 1919, San Diego Sun, II, 7:1. Fine camp grounds to be ready; Council and Park Board to care for auto tourists; decision reached yesterday; planned not only to put grounds in better condition but also to arrange for an oil station and small store at the entrance to the camp grounds; Park Board to have supervision of grounds.
January 4, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:8. Cavalry Officer Joins Polo Four; Major A. R. Boone, from Camp Taliaferro, will play at No. 2 position with the Coronado Club team Sunday, January 5; he replaces Major W. Garrison who leaves Sunday for the east.
January 5, 1919, San Diego Union, Sports Section, 1:1-2. Balboa Park sailors football team win 26 to 0 by defeating submarine base team of San Pedro in Stadium, January 4.
January 7, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:4-6. Teddy Roosevelt’s visit to San Diego in Exposition year was feature event of Southland’s great World’s Fair.
January 8, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:6-7. Entire nation mourns passing of Theodore Roosevelt.
January 9, 1919, San Diego Sun, 4:5. Boy Scouts to have fine camp.
January 9, 1919, San Diego Sun, 4:5. Need more funds for golf course.
January 13, 1919, San Diego Union, 3:3-5. Boy Scouts build headquarters for big weekend camp in Balboa Park.
A new era for the Boy Scouts in San Diego county was started last week when a large number of scouts, under the direction of Scoutmaster Stiera, completed the headquarters building on the weekend camp site, on the ground formerly used by the Oregon cavalry, in the northern section of Balboa park.
It has been sometime since the board of park commissioners granted permission to the local council Boy Scouts of America to use this beautiful site for a permanent weekend camp for the scouts of San Diego county, consisting of 35 troops with a membership of more than 1500 scouts.
The establishment of the camp has been made possible through the services of the San Diego Rotary club, which recently put on a successful financial campaign and raised funds sufficient to carry on the scouting program in San Diego for a period of three years.
The camp as planned will have all the attractions of a regular military camp, and boys attending will be put through a constructive outdoor program, including strict discipline and scouting activities.
The committee in charge of all camp activities is composed of Messrs. Duncan McKinnon, M. E. Heller and John A. Gillons and these men are determined to make this one of the leading Boy Scout camps in the country.
The equipment will include headquarters building and mess hall, with ample shower baths and lavatory, complete camp equipment, including field kitchen, tents, etc. The equipment will be so complete that ample camping facilities will be provided for scouts in the weekend camps, and in the annual summer vacation camps, which will be held in the mountains. All camp buildings will be constructed by the scouts themselves.
To control the attendance of the weekend camp, troops will go into camp by assignment, and scouts can only go into camp with their own troops. This probably will mean that every Boy Scout in the city and county will be able to attend at least one camp each month. Special additional privileges will be given to scouts to attend, who make a special effort to live up to the scout oath and law.
After the camp is formally opened, the scouts will go into camp Friday evenings, where each register and receive his equipment from the camp master.
After pitching tents and completing the work of making camp, the scouts will gather around a campfire for the evening’s program, which will consist of campfire stories, songs, yells, stunts, etc. Tattoo at 8:30 and taps at 9 o’clock.
The Saturday programs will be on the following order, with necessary variations according to the work to be done and the class of scouts in attendance:
6 A.M. – Reveille, flag salute, setting up exercises.
7 A.M. – Breakfast, tent clean-up.
8 A.M. – Assembly, policing the grounds, inspection.
9 A.M. – Instruction ins Scout craft
10 A.M. – Second and first class tests.
12 P.M. – Dinner, tent inspection.
12:30 P.M. – Quiet hour, rest.
2 P.M. – Scout games, hikes, stalking, exploring trips, etc.
4 P.M. – Baths and general cleaning up.
5 P.M. – Assembly, parade and evening colors, accompanied by the usual retreat gun.
5:30 P.M. – Homeward bound, tired but happy.
The world interest in the Boy Scout movement challenges the intelligent understanding of everyone, and yet many people ask: “What is scouting? What do Boy Scouts do?” Scouting is outdoor life, which means health, strength, happiness and practical education.
It develops the power of initiative and resourcefulness.
It helps boys.
It insures good citizenship.
The Boy Scout movement helpfully and sanely offsets the disadvantages which civilization has caused.
It seeks to help boys on leaving school to escape the evils of the “blind-alley” occupations — that is, such work as give the boys mere wages for the moment, but leave him stranded without any trade or handicraft to pursue when he is a man and so send him as a recruit to the great army of the unemployed and, what is worse, the unemployable.
(The remainder of the article is devoted to an explanation of the principles and practices of Scout craft, including a copy of the Scout Oath and of the Scout law.)
January 13, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:5. Pershing Drive plans completed by city engineer Cromwell; will be built through Balboa Park; many subscriptions coming in; monuments at both ends of the highway will bear the names of San Diego boys who died in France.
January 14, 1919, San Diego Union, 8:6-7. Balboa sailors will honor army service organizations with three regimental drills.
January 15, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:6-7. Bids opened for buildings at Naval Air Station, North Island.
January 15, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:3-4. Extension of city’s great museum in Balboa Park favored by Board of Directors of San Diego Museum Association; War Memorial is part of program; report by Dr. Edgar L. Hewett.
The new plans and recommendations embrace the establishing of a memorial war museum or historical department commemorating the splendid work of San Diegans in the war; the establishment by local businessmen in come of the vacant Exposition palaces of a great commercial and industrial museum as a trade magnet for developing business relations especially with Latin America and the Orient; the development of the permanent quadrangle buildings; installation of heating and lighting systems concentrating there of collections relating to evolution of man; enlarging social and child welfare laboratory work; taking up more work in connection with public schools by means of classes, lectures, pageants and motion pictures; providing studios and exhibition facilities for display of art; attracting artists to the southland; finally, Dr. Hewett presented a plan for giving publicity to the museum and to San Diego; details.
January 15, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:5. Sailors to drill in compliment to war work bodies; Y. M. C. A. organizations are guests today at regimental parade and inspection.
January 16, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:1. None flu cases, one death; day’s record in city.
January 16, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:2. Balboa Naval Training Center marches in gallant review to do full honor to officials of Young Men’s Christian Association.
January 17, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:1. EDITORIAL Culture and Commerce
We are heartily in accord with the plan of Dr. Edgar L. Hewett to establish a commercial museum in this city — “an educational institution,” as he phrases it, “not a mere collection of relics.”
January 17, 1919, San Diego Union, Classified, 9:3. Organ recitals to be resumed; beginning Sunday Dr. Stewart will give daily programs at Organ Pavilion; recitals were suspended for repairs to Organ Pavilion.
January 17, 1919, San Diego Union, 15:4. Sailors parade at Balboa Park to honor Miss A. M. Spring who sent carload of applies to camp as Christmas present; reviewing stand on east side of Plaza.
January 18, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:3. Scouts drilled by Army officer; Colonel E. R. Wilson, U. S. Infantry, back from France, takes active interest in Boys’ organization.
January 19, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:1-4, Women of Motor Corps No. 1 given praise when mustered out; inspected for last time at Balboa Park yesterday afternoon.
January 19, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:4-5. Bluejackets at Naval Training Center hold review in honor of visiting Knights of Columbus dignitaries; Knights of Columbus was the second organization to open rooms at the camp for enlisted men.
January 20, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:4-5. Why a Commercial Museum?, by Dr. Edgar L. Hewett.
Naturally in thinking of an enterprise of this sort one looks first at the existing opportunities. (In this respect we are most fortunate.) The war is over and the energies that were organized so magnificently for its successful prosecution are being released for new constructive enterprises. With the dwindling of the naval station on the park, or, as we hope, its establishment in a permanent location somewhere nearby, the Exposition buildings will again become available. No doubt our park board would welcome the opportunity to place such a building as the Southern California Counties building at the disposal of the public for a commercial museum.
January 22, 1919, San Diego Sun, 9:1-2. City Attorney fighting hard to prevent any increase in gas rate.
January 23, 1919, Letter, T. M. Faulconer, Executive Secretary, Board of Park Commissioners, to Commanding Officer, Western Division, U. S. Army, San Francisco, Calif.
In view of the fact that use of a large section of the Panama-California Exposition Grounds and several buildings therein has been given to the United States Army for the past two years at a nominal rental of One Dollar ($1.00) per year, and whereas more or less damage has been done to the premises while occupied by United States troops, it is requested that certain small, frame buildings constructed by the various army units in these premises be left standing and turned over to the city park department of San Diego.
We are advised by Major J. A. Habegger, post supply officer in charge, that the cost of wrecking and salvaging the materials in these buildings will be such as to preclude any profit upon the work. We believe that, were you to ask Major Habegger to go over the situation, he would find that the turning over to the park department of all such buildings would not fully recompense this department for the damage done.
The buildings alluded to above are stables, mess halls and other small structures erected for storage purposes.
Thanking you for your attention to this matter and trusting that you will investigate the conditions upon which his request is based, we are
Very truly yours.
January 23, 1919, San Diego Sun, II, 9:1-2. Gas hearing ends; decision pending; rate climb shown.
January 23, 1919, San Diego Union, 5. Bluejackets of Balboa Park march in review to honor Red Cross workers.
January 23, 1919, San Diego Union, Classified, 9:2. If the city attorney can decide upon a legal way of making the necessary transfer the City Council will turn over to the City Park Commission the $7,000 which the Commission raised during the year as a profit from the Balboa Park refreshment stand.
January 23, 1919, San Diego Union, 10:1. Balboa Park sailors will start the local basketball season officially Saturday night when they tackle the Long Beach Y. M. C. A. five at the local “Y” court.
January 25, 1919, Letter Post Supply Officer, San Diego Barracks, San Diego, California to Board of Park Commissioners, Balboa Park, San Diego, California (San Diego Public Library).
Subject: Cancellation of lease.
- By direction of the Commanding Officer you are hereby notified under the provisions of Par. 8 of a certain lease entered into between yourself and the United States, dated June 18, 1918, for the premises described therein known as the “Hospital” Camp W. R. Taliaferro, San Diego, Calif., the Government hereby relinquishes and gives up possession of same effective January 31, 1919; the said camp having been abandoned for military purposes.
- No rent will be paid after the date last named, and you are requested to take
possession of the premises on that day.
- Please acknowledge.
(Signed) J. A. HABEGGER,
Major, Q. M. C.
Post Supply officer
Notation at bottom of letter, typewritten, reads:
Acknowledging receipt of cancellation of lease of premises known as “Hospital” Camp W. R. Taliaferro date June 18, 1918, It is requested that you appoint officer or officers to survey said premises with officers of this department in order that the premises may be taken over by us.
Board of Park Commissioners.
January 26, 1919, San Diego Union, Classified, 1:4. Open-air dance in January new to easterners; more than 2,000 attend affair on Plaza de Panama in Balboa Park last night in appreciation of the drill given last Wednesday by the sailors of the Naval Training Station for the Red Cross officers; Navy Training Center band furnished music for dancing.
January 27, 1919, Letter Major E. (?) C. (?) Long, A. A. Q. M., U. S. M. C., Post Quartermaster, to the Board of Park Commissioners (San Diego Public Library):
You are informed that the Marine Barracks, constituting all buildings leased from the Board of Park Commissioners, and the camp, including “sick bay,” or hospital, is without electric lights, and has been for a period of about a week, due to a break or short circuit in one of the feeders under your control. This condition is seriously detrimental to the health and comfort of the command, and constitutes a menace from fire, due to the use of kerosene lamps and candles for lighting the buildings and camp.
Telephonic conversation with the Executive Secretary of the Board of Park Commissioners and the manager of the San Diego Consolidated Gas and Electric Company has developed the fact that neither the Board of Park Commissioners nor the San Diego Consolidated Gas and Electric Company will locate or remedy the trouble, the point of contention between the two parties just mentioned being, to my understanding, that the Park Commissioners do not think they should bear the expense of maintaining electric feeders which they own, and over which the Marine Corps receives it lighting circuit, while the San Diego Consolidated Gas and Electric Company are paid all money by the Marine Corps for electricity furnished. The Commissioners are willing that the system (an underground circuit) should be taken over, operated and maintained by the San Diego Consolidated Gas and Electric Company, which the latter has declined to do, stating the maintenance costs to be prohibitive, due to the fact that the feeders were installed for temporary use only, during the period of the Exposition. However, the company stands ready to immediately start construction of a Pole line to serve the Marine Barracks. This the Commissioners will not permit, as they consider a pole line to be unsightly, and therefore detrimental to the appearance of the Park.
As custom, common usage, and rules of the Interstate Commerce Commission provide that customers in certain defined areas purchasing electricity pay only the installation and maintenance inside of the meter, the undersigned does not believe that he could legally bind the Government to pay a cost which any other customer under like circumstances would not have to pay, and therefore would act without authority should he incur any expense in maintaining feeders outside of the meters.
The Marine Corps will immediately lay the matter, as mentioned above, before the Interstate Commission for a decision. However, as this is necessarily a time-consuming procedure, the Marine Barracks will in the meantime be without lights, endangering the health and comfort of the command and the safety of Government property. Since the Marine Corps has never been informed until the present of any points of contention between the Board of Park Commissioners and the San Diego Consolidated Gas and Electric Company, the Post Quartermaster requests that the Barracks be supplied with electricity as heretofore, until a decision is received from the Interstate Commerce Commission. This request seems an equitable one, as service over the Park’s feeders has been rendered the Marine Corps during a period of four years with no attendant difficulty, until the present. Any immediate action taken by the Board toward reestablishing of the lighting system for the Marine Barracks will be greatly appreciated.
This opportunity is taken to thank the Park Board for its many courtesies extended in the past.
Major, A.A.Q.M., U.S.M.C.
January 27, 1919, 1st Indorsement. Hq. West. Dept., S. F., Cal., to the Commanding Officer, Camp Lawrence J. Hearn, Palm City, Calif.
By command of Major General Morrison
(Signed) H. C. BENSON
Colonel, Adjutant General
January 27, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:1. EDITORIAL: San Diego Memorial
The memorial road through Balboa Park proposed as a commemorative tribute to San Diego’s dead soldiers and sailors is a community enterprise and should enlist the earnest support of every citizen.
January 31, 1919, Letter, Arthur W. Yale, Major, Medical Corps, Surgeon, to Board of Park Commissioners, San Diego, California.
The Government has erected on Rockwell Field a permanent concrete post hospital. This building is very beautifully designed and ornamented, but is situated on a piece of ground which is bare, and no external ornamentation of horticulture has yet been done excepting the leveling of the ground and the planting of some grass seed. It has come to the notice of the Post Surgeon that from time to time plants have been donated to this field by your board, but so far none of them have found their way to the hospital.
As the War Department has erected this hospital as a model, it is our desire to make it beautiful on the outside as well as on the inside, and to this end, we earnestly ask the cooperation of your board. We especially desire at this time the services of your landscape architect who has so beautifully laid out your park grounds. We would appreciate it if he would lay out a plan for the beautifying and decoration of the grounds surrounding this hospital, so that a harmonious and beautifying effect can be ultimately produced.
We appreciate the large amount of work which has been done by your board for the Army and Navy, and, although we hesitate to ask further favors, yet as this is a hospital where the sick soldiers, many of whom are San Diego boys, have to lay on beds of sickness and pain and look out on the barren grounds, we feel that in asking your aid in making the grounds cheery and beautiful for the men, that we are only asking what you would want to have done for your boy were he sick or injured in our hospital.
If your landscape architect will lay out plans for use, we will do our utmost to see that the work is carried out under the supervision of a competent officer and the work of cultivating, irrigating and taking care of the plants be continued.
Trusting that this will meet with your approval, and awaiting your valued cooperation, we remain
Yours very truly
(Signed) Arthur W. Yale,
Major, Medical Corps,
February 1, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:6. Old Town bridge ordinance appropriating $60,000 for completion of structure passes over Mayor Wilde’s veto.
February 1, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:4-5. The Soldiers’ and Sailor’s Club of the War Camp Community Service at 615 Broadway, formerly operated by the San Diego Federation of State Societies, has been turned over by the War Camps Community Service to the U. S. Service League and will be operated by that latter organization for the War Community Service without charge.
February 1, 1919, San Diego Union, 6;6. Demobilization of the 16th Division at Camp Kearny hastened; much of routine work finished and discharges will be speedily accomplished.
New cases of influenza in this camp dropped to one yesterday, as against three the previous day.
February 2, 1919, 2nd Indorsement: Letter, Commanding Officer, Camp Lawrence J. Hearn, Palm City, Calif. to Commanding General, Western Department, San Francisco, Calif. (San Diego Public Library).
- The following buildings are still standing at Camp Taliaferro:
Three ice houses – good condition
Gas instruction house – good condition
Old stable – made of scrap lumber
Company mess hall – fairly new
Officers mess building – good condition.
- Of the above, one ice house is needed at San Diego Barracks for a meat and vegetable storehouse; the Officers Mess Building and the Company Mess Building are both needed
at Camp Hearn. The Gas Instruction Building is not needed, but has some good lumber in
- The old stables are hardly worth tearing down.
- There has been a certain amount of wear and tear on the Park premises, but no damage other
than that has been done.
- In view of the kindness and liberality of the Park Board, it is recommended that two of the
ice houses, the gas instruction house, and the old stables be left standing, and that an ice
house be hauled intact to San Diego Barracks, and the Officers Mess and the Company Mess
be salvaged and the lumber hauled to Camp Hearn for use in reconstruction at that place.
- As orders had already been issued by this office for the salvage work to begin Monday,
telegraphic instructions are requested.
(Signed) Abbott Boone
Major 11th Cavalry.
February 2, 1919, San Diego Union, 15:6-7. Boy Scouts enjoy weekend at Balboa Park; construction work being done.
February 4, 1919, Memorandum, Commanding Officer, Camp Lawrence J. Hearn, Palm City, Calif.
Your recommendation in second indorsement dated February 2nd reference buildings at Camp
Walter R. Taliaferro are approve.
February 4, 1919, 3rd Indorsement, Hq. Western Department, San Francisco, Cal., to Commanding Officer, Camp Lawrence J. Hearn, Palm City, Cal.
- Attention invited to enclosed telegram sent this date.
By command of Major General Morrison:
(Signed) H. C. Benson
Colonel, Adjutant General,
February 4, 1919, Letter, Superintendent of Parks, San Diego, California to Quartermaster, U. S. Army,
San Diego Barracks, San Diego, California.
A report made to me yesterday by Mr. Harper in charge of buildings and grounds in the Exposition Grounds, Balboa Park, quotes the following in a communication which he addressed to you:
“In making your cleanup at Camp Taliaferro, Balboa Park, it is evident from the progress of the Salvage Department the past two weeks that you do not intend to leave anything of value in building, plumbing, etc. whatsoever. Therefore it is the desire of the Supt. of Parks and the Supt. of Buildings that
(1.) You make a thorough cleanup of all buildings built by the Q. M. Department or any other army service on the area or areas occupied by the army in Balboa Park;
(2.) Remove all concrete floors, hauling rubbish to the dump near the north entrance to the Park;
(3.) Clear and level to a grade conforming to the surrounding contours all trenches, ditches, holes, etc. on all space occupied by you either as a camping or drilling space;
(4.) Replace all pipe lines, fire hydrants and fire hose equipment worn out or damaged in any way by your use and occupancy;
(5.) Repair all Park buildings occupied by the army to their original state of repair when taken over by the Western Division as a training camp; same in include wiring, plumbing, glazing, plumbing fixtures, plaster, etc., wherever the Supt. of Buildings declares damage to property has occurred through the occupancy of the training camp.”
I have been unable to make the inspection myself, having been confined to the Hospital and residence on account of illness. However it seems to me that after all the courtesies extended to the United States Army by the Board of Park Commissioners and its representatives the present actions of the army authorities are open to serious complaints.
Would it not be advisable for you to see Mr. Harper, who is in charge of the building department of the Park, and have these matters adjusted as soon as possible?
An early reply will oblige.
Yours very truly.
February 4, 1919, Third Indorsement: Hq. Western Department, San Francisco, Cal. to Commanding Officer, Camp Lawrence J. Hearn, Palm City, Cal.
- Attention invited to enclosed telegram sent this date.
By command of Major General Morrison:
(Signed) H. C. Benson
Colonel, Adjutant General
February 5, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:6. Memory of Theodore Roosevelt to be honored at Organ Pavilion Sunday.
February 6, 1919, 4th Indorsement: Commanding Officer, Camp L. J. Hearn, Palm City, Cal. to Post Supply Officer, San Diego Barracks, San Diego, Calif.
- Forwarded for necessary action.
By order of Major Boone
1st Lieut. 11th Cavalry
(NOTE: telegram not included.)
February 10, 1919, San Diego Union, 3:5-6. Tribute to memory of Theodore Roosevelt here; 10,000 gathered at Organ Pavilion for tribute.
February 10, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:3. 21st Infantry Regiment under orders to leave; San Diego’s own troops have been stationed in this city since March, 1916.
Instructions have been received by the officers of the 21st Infantry to get the regiment ready to be moved with a few days. The headquarters battalion to be stationed at Vancouver barracks, Washington, and the other battalion at Fort D. A. Russell, Cheyenne, Wyoming. There are approximately 1950 men in the regiment.
Colonel Willis Uline has been in command of the regiment for about a year, succeeding Colonel J. P. O’Neil, when the latter was made a brigadier general and transferred to Texas.
This is San Diego’s own regiment of troops, and many of them are San Diego boys. They came to this city in March, 1916, from Vancouver, and were stationed at Balboa park until the 40th Division went to France, when they were transferred to Camp Kearny.
Madame Ernestine Schumann-Heink is the godmother of the regiment and has always taken a great interest in the men. One of the most impressive military ceremonies here was the presentation of the colors of the regiment by the famous singer at the time when she was given the insignia of colonel.
The regimental band and troops of the 21st Infantry have participated in practically every celebration held in the city during the last year, and their removal will be regretted by all San Diego.
February 13, 1919, 6:4-5. 21st Regiment’s Officers given farewell luncheon by Chamber of Commerce
Expressions of regret over the coming departure of the 21st regiment of infantry, Unites States army, and appreciation of the splendid services rendered by that military organization during the last three years, were voiced at a luncheon yesterday at the Cuyamaca club. The luncheon, given by the chamber of commerce in honor of Colonel Willis Uline, commander of the 21st regiment, and his staff, was attended by many prominent San Diegans.
Melville Klauber, president of the chamber of commerce, acted as toastmaster. Klauber said that the 21st infantry had during the last three years been a “big brother” to the community, that the officers and men zealously performed every function requested of them during the days of the exposition and after that, and that San Diego hailed with genuine regret the order sending them to other posts.
In responding to Toastmaster Klauber’s request for a speech, Colonel Uline traced the record of the 21st from the time the regiment participated in its first engagement at Lundy’s Lane, through its activities in the Civil and Spanish-American wars, down to the present time. He called particular attention to the important work carried out by the first and second battalions in suppressing the activities of spies along the international boundary line in the vicinity of San Diego and declared that the 21st border patrols captured two dangerous German agents carrying important information.
Colonel Uline praised the newspapers of San Diego for withholding publication of news which at the time would have been of much benefit to Hun agents operating in Mexico. He also praised the zeal and spirit of the drafted men that were inducted into the 21st regiment to bring it up to war strength, and closed with a plea for San Diegans to work together always in whatever future plans may be outlined.
- Aubrey Davidson said that the was sorry to see the regiment go, that the city was losing a real friend, and that the regiment did more to make the exposition a success than any other organization connected with the big fair. Davidson [told] how the 21st regiment came to San Diego on the cruiser Pittsburg in March, 1916, under the command of Major William Brooke, of conferences with Major General Hugh Scott, then chief of staff, in which the latter agreed to send a battalion and band of the famous regiment here, and of the wholehearted manner in which officers and men met every obligation imposed upon them. Davidson then extended the thanks of the community to the officers of the regiment, and to Bandmaster Butler of the regimental band.
Other speakers were W. C. Hollenbeck, chaplain of the regiment, and W. S. Dorland, chairman of the army and navy committee of the chamber of commerce.
Colonel Uline, members of his staff, and the first battalion of the 21st will leave Camp Kearny tomorrow for Vancouver barracks, Washington. The Second battalion will leave Saturday for Fort Sheridan, Wyoming.
Those present at the luncheon included John D. Spreckels, William Clayton, W. S. Dorland, Melville Klauber, A. P. Johnson, Jr., Julius Wangenheim, G. Aubrey Davidson, Leroy A. Wright, Frank Belcher, Jr., Jerome Pendleton, B. W. McKenzie, Hugo Klauber, George Burnham, O. W. Cotton, Eugene Daney, Patterson Sprigg, Wheeler Bailey, M. J. Perrin, James MacMullen, George Thomas and William Thompkins.
With Colonel Uline were Lieut. Colonel Ralph Glass, Majors John Brooks, Clyde Feisenschmidt, and Richard Smith, and Captains Karl Driggers, Alfred Biles, John McAleer, Frank McGraw, Charles Stein and W. Altman Shely, and Chaplain Wilbur Hollenbeck.
February 13, 1919, San Diego Union, 14:2. Birthday anniversaries of Lincoln and Washington observed at Organ Pavilion yesterday afternoon.
February 18, 1919, San Diego Sun, 1:7. Balboa Park to be abandoned by United States Navy within a few weeks.
February 18, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:6. Mrs. Herman J. Hall of Chicago praises museum and city park; lectured at San Diego Museum on “The Appreciation of Art”; San Diego has everything nature gave to Florence.
February 19, 1919, San Diego Union, Classified, 9:4. Naval Training Station in Park is discontinued; orders for demobilization of enlisted personnel of Naval Training Station at Balboa Park were received yesterday by Captain Arthur M. Archer, Commandant.
February 21, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:2. H. J. Penfold suggests Peace Jubilee Exposition for San Diego in 1920; use of Balboa Park grounds with music as feature of show is proposed.
February 22, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:4-5. City’s official welcome to troops set for today; homecoming boys of Batteries A and B, 65th Artillery, will take part in parade and celebration; speeches at Park; dinner, dances in clubs in evening.
February 22, 1919, San Diego Union, Classified, 9:5. Reverend Charles E. Erdman, Doctor of Divinity, Princeton Theological Seminary, will speak to sailors at Balboa Park tomorrow in Red Cross house.
February 23, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:3-7, 6:3-4. Thousands throng streets to honor returned veterans.
February 24, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:4-6. Grant Wallace, newcomer to San Diego, urges development of culture; “make permanent that monumental advertising campaign which used to be called the Exposition”; convert old Exposition into a Chamber of Culture.
February 26, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:4. Art Guild moves into new home in Fine Arts building, Balboa park; first of city clubs to accept invitation to use Exposition buildings; San Diego Museum has furnished and turned over free to the Guild the large room adjoining the main gallery, formerly occupied by the architectural exhibit.
February 28, 1919, Memorandum, Field Hanger Division, Air Service Flying School, Rockwell Field, San Diego, California to Captain Sidney E. Eberle, Post Inspector.
- Request your permission to obtain from the Board of Park Commissioners, Balboa Park, three spreading Palm Trees for the three grass plots around the Field Desk, also a small supply of shrubbery
(Signed) John W. Slattery,
1st Lt. A. S., (A).
- I. C., F. & H.
Handwritten notation at bottom of memorandum reads “Approved S. E. Eberle, Capt. 21st Inf. RMA.
February 28, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:5-6. San Diego Museum Notes
Among the noted eastern artists who have been attracted to Balboa Park and its environs by the facilities offered to painters and other art workers is Adman E. Albright of Chicago, who is completing his winter period of sketching this week and preparing to take with him a large number of studies made in and around San Diego and at Ocean Beach. . . . While at the museum this week, arrangements were made for securing for the museum within a few months a “one-man show” of Albright’s paintings.
Miss Edna Scofield, whose studio is in the Museum Science of Man building, will resume her “at home” afternoons Saturday. She will be assisted by Miss May Shelton of La Jolla, some of whose recently completed examples of modeling will be on view. . . . It is probable that Miss Shelton soon will join the resident art colony at the museum.
The movement toward centering the many scientific and artistic associations around the museum has received further impetus in the decision of the Natural History Museum association to move their very complete and attractive collections of birds, mammals, fishes, shells, reptiles, botanical specimens and scientific library into one of the great exposition structures adjacent to the San Diego Museum of Man, as soon as the boys of the naval training station move out. These two museums, while wholly distinct and with different boards of directors, are related in purposes as educational centers, and in moving down from the inadequate building now occupied on the Calle Cristobal, north of the orange groves in Balboa Park, the Natural History Museum will be easily accessible to the public, and in a position to join more effectively in the general educational life of the center. Still a third museum, which it is hoped may be added to the group, is the proposed war historical museum, as a memorial of the part played in the great war by San Diego county. A fine nucleus for this war museum already is in sight, and an ideal building is available for it.
Prof. W. A. Griffith, for 20 years director of the Art museum for the University of Kansas and chairman of the exhibition committee of the College Art association is one among many artists and educators attracted to San Diego, In addition to placing at the disposal of the museum his fine collection of Japanese prints and of European and American war posters for exhibition later in the year, Prof. Griffith expressed appreciation of the efforts being made to concentrate the city’s artists and cultural activities around the old exposition center. He presented a plan for the possible financing or endowing of creative artists, writers, musicians and others who have no means of developing their talent or working out their plans, and of making it possible for them to do their work in the inspiring wonderland of Balboa Park.
March 1, 1919, San Diego Sun, 6:5-8. These are out ancestors! They live in local museum.
March 2, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:4. Balboa sailors to give dance for Nurses’ Corps at Red Cross houses next Friday evening.
March 2, 1919, San Diego Union, 14:4. Dr. Stewart asks park building for Musician’s Guild.
March 3, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:4. Henry Lovins writes letter urging art center in Balboa Park.
March 3, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:2. Memorial road fund is going right ahead; 629 subscribers; total on deposit $1,962.00
March 6, 1919, San Diego Sun, II, 9:3. Painted Desert to be reopened Saturday at 2:30 p.m.; headquarters for Girl Scouts and Campfire Girls.
March 6, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:5-6. San Diego Museum Notes.
March 6. 1919, San Diego Union, 5:3:4 Indian ceremonials mark reopening Painted Desert; Ernest Thompson Seton will have charge of reproducing various native dances and customs; school children to aid; plan camping grounds in Pueblo buildings.
The Pueblo Indian villages in the 5-acre painted desert, which were turned over to the San Diego museum this week by the Balboa park commission, will be reopened to the public on Saturday afternoon at 2:30 o’clock. They will be maintained as the happy hunting grounds for all children from 2 years old to 92.
Ernest Thompson Seton, famous author, artist, lecturer and chief of the Woodcraft League of America, has accepted the invitation of the museum management to officiate at the opening ceremonies. The program, which is nearing completion, will be full of surprises and in harmony with the aboriginal setting of this group of the communal homes of the several Indian tribes of our southwest.
This being child welfare week of the children’s year, the center of which for San Diego county is the museum under the auspices of the government, the ceremonies and entertainment arranged by Seton and Director Hewett will be carried out largely by the children of San Diego, under the leadership of the organizers of boy’s and girls’ clubs. Seton, whose Indian name is Chief Shuka Sapa (Black Wolf) will stage the ceremonial of organizing and conducting a woodcraft council of braves, after lighting the sacred fire by the primitive methods of rubbing sticks. He will give the woodcraft laws, conduct the rattlesnake game and the caribou dance, assisted by Boy Scouts, properly antlered and costumed. Seton will also tell weird Indian campfire stories and give imitations of wild animals and birds. He will show how to conduct a school of citizenship and there will be tribal songs of the redmen and the training of the youngsters in impromptu pantomimes.
For this, the first of many recreation days contemplated for the public at the ancient Pueblos near the north gate of Balboa Park, the director and the managing board of the museum invite particularly all school children from both public and private schools, more than 8 years old; all Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts and Campfire Girls. Their teachers and leaders, parents and friends are included in the invitation.
In order that the widest use may be made by the public of the painted desert, plans are maturing for providing camp quarters in and among the buildings for such organizations as the Campfire Girls, Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts. Rooms will be assigned for their use and for storing their campfire regalia and camp outfits.
In addition, from time to time collections of Indian articles of use and ornament will be shown, and this exhibit of Indian homes will be maintained as a permanent ethnological exhibit of the museum. It was erected by the Santa Fe railway at a cost of $125,000.
March 7, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:3-4. Boy and Girl Scouts rush to join in tribal ceremonial to mark reopening of Painted Desert
The announcement of the reopening to the public of the famed Painted Desert by the San Diego museum, with Ernest Thompson Seton, nature author and artist, as master of ceremonies, has started a rush of applications for places around the council fires from most of the outdoor boys and girls in the city.
The weird ceremonies, must appropriately, will be under the winds of the eagle of Uncle Sam. By special arrangement with the military authorities, a large war scout airplane, in charge of Major Jefferson Davis of San Diego, will fly from March field, Riverside, tomorrow and swoop low over the Indian powwow.
An official photographer from the war zone will make a series of pictures of the ceremonies and of the Indian village from the aeroplane. The crowd will also be treated to some up-to-date flying stunts.
Since the announcement of the opening of the pueblos was made yesterday, arrangements have been completed for allotting permanent headquarters and all the privileges of the five acres of Taos, Hopi and Zuni villages to two organizations — the Campfire Girls and the Girl Scouts. Plans are underway by Mr. Seton for holding later a campfire council for the purpose of training leaders to organize the children of San Diego into Woodcraft league Indian councils. He has issued a call for volunteers interested in working among boys to confer with him at the desert Saturday afternoon, preparatory to beginning this preliminary training. This work is parallel to that of the scouts, and boys and girls may belong to both organizations.
One group of 500 boys, led by Chief Executive Elwood Barley and scoutmasters, will attend the powwow in a body. A large delegation of the Girl Scouts, commanded by Miss Nancy Waddell, county director, will be on hand, with delegations from all the schools. Mrs. Josephine Randall, director of the Campfire Girls, garbed in Indian costume, will participate in the opening ceremonies, with Indian songs and ceremonies, and scouts from the Francis Parker school will assist Chief Black Wolf in aboriginal games and a caribou dance. The invitation is general to youngsters above 8 years of age.
The program, which will consume about two hours beginning at 2:30 tomorrow, includes Indian games, athletic contests and weird ceremonies dear to the heart of boys and girls. The chief of the Woodcraft league will teach the boys how to make a fire by rubbing two sticks together. He accomplished this feat in 25 second yesterday at the museum. His Indian songs and imitations of the howls and cries of wild animals and instruction in the games and hunting methods of the wilds, will be features of the afternoon.
March 7, 1919, 6:5-6. Public asked to be well today so nurses may dance at Balboa Park; this will probably be the last dance given by the Navy at the park as the band men are leaving March 15 and the station is to be closed by the first of the month.
March 8, 1919, San Diego Sun, 3:3-6. Southern California Counties Building.
March 8, 1919, San Diego Sun, 6:5. Girl and Boy Scouts reopened Indian Village this afternoon.
March 8, 1919, San Diego Union, 14:1. Scouts to have place of honor at ceremonies reopening Painted Desert.
Interest in the opening to the public of the museum’s painted desert in Balboa Park this afternoon at 2 o’clock has grown to such proportions that Ernest Thompson Seton, head of the Boy’s and Girls’ Woodcraft League of America, who is in charge of the ceremonies, fears that his campfire council many be swamped by crowds. He has therefore requested that the Scouts’ organizations and the school children be given the foremost places in the great powpow circle. The grownups will have to take their chances on finding more distant perches to witness the exposition of the 12 secrets of the woods and the other rites of the redmen.
It is announced by Maj. W. Jefferson Davis, who will be present with the aviators, that through arrangements made with the flight commanders, Major Bartholf of March Field, Riverside, and Captain Hoover of the North Island aviation training station, a squadron of four or five planes, instead of one, probably will be sent to assist in the ceremonies. It is expected that two of the big planes will be piloted by the two sons of General Kenley of the aviation service. Two of the planes will carry expert air service photographers, one of whom, Lieut. Gordon Pollock, who will fly from Riverside, is one of the best known of Uncle Sam’s camera men. These will photograph the ceremonies.
One of the guests of the museum will be United States Senator James D. Phelan, who is here to address the people in support of the league of nations.
Chief Black Wolf Seton has decided to return later and assist in making the painted desert the great center of the southwest of the boy’s and girls’ Indian woodcraft activities and, aided by Dr. Hewett and Grant Wallace, the museum’s experts in the lore of the deserts, he will revise the 800 pages of woodcraft ritual to conform to the land of the pueblos. Tonight he will organize leaders for the continuation of this work. Volunteers, men and women, are asked to make themselves known to him following the desert ceremonies this afternoon.
Admission is free. The entrance most convenient to the happy hunting grounds from the cars and for the autos is the north gate.
March 8, 1919, San Diego Union, 14:2. Students to exhibit art work tomorrow.
An exhibition of art work by students of Henry Lovins covering a wide range of subjects will open tomorrow afternoon at 2 o’clock. The exhibition will continue Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings of the following week from 10 to 12 a.m. only. The collection will be displayed in the large east studio, second floor, California building, in Balboa Park.
. . . .
Another feature will be the display of work done by the sailors who attended the evening classes under the direction of Mr. Lovins and authorized by the Y. M. C. A.
March 9, 1918, San Diego Union, 4:3-5. Ernest Thompson Seton presides as chief at “Council of Thunder Bird” on Painted Desert.
The “Council of the Thunderbird” was the name adopted for the out-of-doors meeting held yesterday afternoon in the stockade of the Painted Desert in Balboa Park, to hear Ernest Thompson Seton tell about Indian woodcraft. Several hundred Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts of America in uniform and Campfire Girls, dressed in Indian costume, school children and citizens followed with interest the novel proceedings which included dances and incantations, such as were used by the Ojibway and other Indians, and contests between members of the several troops of scouts represented.
Traditions of the early days were preserved in holding the council around a “council rock,” on which, with Chief Thompson Seton were seated Dr. Edgar Hewett, who was appointed guardian of the campfire; Milton McRae, head of the Boy Scouts of America; Grant Wallace, head of the publicity department of the San Diego Museum; and Miss Nancy Waddell, a leader in girl scout work in San Diego.
The chief announced that a guardian of the fire must be appointed and he placed that responsibility in the hands of Miss Josephine Randall, guardian of the Katyimo campfire at the Golden Hill playgrounds.
During the early part of the proceedings, an airplane hovered overhead, the humming noise of the propeller suggesting thunder to the primitive people gathered in council and, following Indian custom, the chose for a name for their council “Thunderbird,” being the most remarkable thing they had encountered during the day. The airplane carried a pilot and a photographer, and on one of the several trips the ship made over the heads of the council, a sea of handkerchiefs waved a salute, which was acknowledged in kind by the picture man.
Dr. Hewett, as guardian, delivered a short address of welcome to the visitors and said it is the hope of those who are engaged in promoting an interest in woodcraft and all outdoor life, that all children “between the ages of 4 and 104” will make use of the Painted Desert as a gathering place and recreation center. He announced that a house in the “desert” will be set aside for each of the boy and girl organizations of scouts, campfire girls, and boys and girls of woodcraft, who are expected to be organized as a result of Mr. Thompson Seton’s visit.
Chief Thompson Seton briefly referred to the symbolism of the fire, and how important a discovery fire had been in the history of mankind. He explained the paintings on a blanket which hung above and as a background to the council rock. A central red disc was the symbol of fire, he said, and four lamps standing about it had various significance: one of them called “Fortitude” had the message: “Be brave, be silent and obey”; another called “Beauty” stood for the teaching: “Be strong, be clean, protect life always”; a third, “Truth” said: “Speak true, play fair and be patient”; and the fourth, called “Love,” had the message: “Be kind, be helpful and be glad you are alive.”
The “Caribou dance,” done by Mr. Seton and four boy scouts, illustrated a tradition of the Ojibways in time of famine. This was followed by games and contests in which boys and girls took park, and was one of the means employed by the “chief” to illustrate how readily the young may be trained in outdoor sports and amusements, as the contests were new to all those taking part. These included “One-legged chicken fights,” “Tub-tilting,” “Hand-Wrestling,” “Hand-Slapping,” and similar games.
Among the contestants were Scouts James Otten, Daniel Mckay, Edward Halber, Herbert Henschel, Franklin Fulton, Bryant Spohn, Edward Post, Harry Heilbron, Elliott Gose, Edward Fiegan, Wade Hageman and Walker Ground; and Girl Scouts Aileen Worth and Mildred Cochrane.
A weird ceremony was the singing of a chant by the campfire girls as they slowly marched around the fire and then seated themselves and continued the chanting. Another chant was sung at the close of the council. It was the Omaha tribal prayer and was rendered by the campfire girls and the boy and girl scouts forming a circle around the fire.
Mr. Thompson Seton gave an interesting recital of the story of the “Whooping Crane,” a Sioux Indian, who with two scout companions made his way into the country of the Ojibways, their enemies, and learned of a contemplated attack on his tribe. The recital was accompanied by realistic acting with bird and animal calls which the Indians used in signaling to one another. The audience watched in absolute silence while the well-known nature lover and author of many books on outdoor life enacted the stealthy walking and crawling of the Indians as they penetrated the territory of their enemies.
March 9, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:3. Dance given in honor of nurses a success; about 300 couples attended affair at Red Cross House, Balboa Park.
March 10, 1919, San Diego Sun, II, 7:6. Scouts dedicated their new home Saturday.
March 12, 1919, San Diego Sun, II, 7:2-3. Conard in race for mayor; gives views on city affairs; thinks taxes are too high.
March 12, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:3. Camp activities at Balboa Park to end Saturday; beginning Monday equipment of Training Station will be sent to Mare Island.
Camp activities at the Naval Training Camp, Balboa Park, will come to an end Saturday evening, according to an announcement made yesterday by Lieut. Com. W. R. Cushman, executive officer or the station. Beginning Monday the camp will disband and all equipment will be sent to Mare Island, to which station a number of officers and chief petty officers will go about the middle of next month.
Plans for the final day of activities were announced yesterday and will include a band concert, which will be given on the Plaza de Panama from 3:30 to 3:30 o’clock, following which will be given the last outdoor dance by the officers and enlisted men of the station in honor of all San Diegans who have assisted the camp during the last two years. The music for the dance will be furnished by the crack camp band under the direction of J. Early, bandmaster.
Hundreds of people are attending the final dress parades which are being held on the plaza each afternoon at 1:30 o’clock. The last parade will be held Friday.
March 12, 1919, San Diego Union, Classified, 9:4. Permission was granted yesterday by Major David M. Randall, commandant of the Marine Barracks, to Major Elmer Buerkle of the San Diego High School Cadet Corps to use the former 21st Infantry grounds in Balboa Park as the location of a vacation camp; camp to be held during the week of the spring vacation at the high school; the necessary tents and utensils will be furnished by the Marine Corps.
March 12, 1919, San Diego Union, 16:4-7. Organ recitals gain in popularity shown; Dr. H. J. Stewart submits fourth annual report; 209 organ recitals in 1918.
March 13, 1919, San Diego Sun, 2:4-5. Thunderbird Council will stage contests at Painted Desert each Saturday.
The young Indians’ “Council of the Thunderbird,” which is the name given by Ernest Thompson Seton to the local club of the Woodcraft League of America, will be continued and perpetuated, with the San Diego’s museum’s Painted Desert in Balboa Park as headquarters. A field day of club contests with other organizations of boys and girls, game, sports, music and campfire pow-wows, will be given each Saturday afternoon.
Chief Seton of New York, whose Indian name is Black Wolf, and the museum management have appointed City Playground Supt. Frank S. Marsh as the Medicine Man to complete the organization of the Thunderbird council of boys and girls and to stage manage the big doings in the desert next Saturday. He will be assisted by a number of chiefs of the Boys’ and Girls’ Scout organizations and by athletic directors from Camp Kearny. A Woodcraft league chapter has been applied for from New York.
Joseph Jessop, noted archery expert, whose exhibit of bows and arrows in the museum is one of the finest in America, has offered to assist in the forming of Thunderbird archery clubs, and these will hold Robin Hood contests at the desert. A shop will be installed where the boys can make their bows and arrows besides other crafts products. There will be music, games and a jousting tournament or tub-tilting between teams to be fought out during four Saturdays with prizes. Other details of the lively program will be worked out at a meeting between Chief Marsh and sub-chiefs at the Grant hotel tonight. Many of the Woodcraft contests will be a continuation of those illustrated by Seton last Saturday to the delight of over 3,000 kiddies and their friends at the reopening of the desert to the public.
March 13, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:1-2. San Diego Museum Notes.
March 14, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:3-5. San Diego Museum Notes.
March 15, 1919, San Diego Sun, 1:7-8, 9:4. Naval Hospital site is praised; school may come.
March 16, 1919, San Diego Union, Classified, 1:4-5. Park Commissioners plan aviation depot as Balboa Park attraction; City Attorney believes Board can legally permit Lt. Hennessy to maintain air passenger service on old infantry drill grounds; action planned at next meeting; Park Commission will receive a portion of fees as rental for the flying field.
March 16, 1919, San Diego Union, Sport and Auto, 6:5. A tractor performance will take place next Saturday on the old artillery camp site at Balboa Park; Boy Scouts to plant crop on site from seed donated by San Diego merchants.
March 17, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:1. EDITORIAL: Our Playground
No more appropriate use could be suggested for San Diego’s incomparable park site than that proposed by Dr. Edgar Hewett and Ernest Thompson Seton — to make it the city’s playground and artistic rendezvous and colony.
This is precisely what parks are for — recreation, rest and the conservation of whatever the community possesses or aspires to in its esthetic activities; beauty, culture, good taste, discriminating appreciation of the best that lives in art and nature. With wise provision of an ultimate purpose the promoters of this plan to make Balboa Park a substantial asset of San Diego’s growing and future prosperity have begun their great enterprise by an effort to popularize the park with the youth of the city. They have set apart the area of the Painted Desert — the most distinctive feature of any public pleasure ground in the world — for the young, where they may gather for their sports and outdoor exercises. Wisely, too, they include in their curriculum of recreational and educational purpose formulated on dramatic action [programs that are} peculiarly adaptable to the natural genius of all boys and girls with red blood in their veins; and throughout the scheme runs a human morality that teaches courage, fortitude, cleanliness of mind and body, benevolence, charity, honesty, truth — all the requirements of the best citizenship wholly apart from all artificial or debatable predilections and conventions of the social environment. The basic virtues are insisted upon and the children who play in this playground may go out from it into the great world with open minds sustained by the thought that underlies the philosophy which sang through the heart of Robert Burns, “it is good to be merry and wise, it is good to be honest and true,” and that which another rhymed in the verse,
May I govern my passions with absolute sway,
And grow wiser and better as my youth wears away.
The playground is the natural and logical complement of San Diego’s excellent public schools. The boys and girls go from their classroom to their sports and assemblies prepared to gather confirmation and of what they have learned in books from another source wherein is also the action fitting to the word. For it is as true today as when Shakespeare spoke, that we “Find tongues in trees, books in the running brooks, sermons in stones and good in everything.” Let San Diego encourage and support in every way this great enterprise of making its park a place of beauty and a joy ground forever.
March 18, 1919, San Diego Union, 7:1. Guild makes exhibit of art works’ showing is open to public in Fine Arts building, Balboa park.
March 19, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:1. EDITORIAL: Fame for San Diego
The great public park of San Diego is for all the people; not to be kept for an “exclusive set” or to be a no-man’s land for those who do not specialized in some cult, fad, hobby or eccentricity of inclination. There is room for everybody within the area of its fourteen hundred acres. It is the people’s money that pays for the park’s upkeep and enlargement; and there should be as few restrictions as may be compatible with the general purpose. Keep-off-the-grass signs should be as infrequent as the acres of properly cultivated lawn and bowling greens; let the geraniums bloom as freely as they will, but don’t prohibit us from admiring them; give us full leave to play in the park, to drive there, to camp there if we desire, to make it our recreation center for all sports, to fill its stately and picturesque structures with art studios, culture groups, science societies, picture galleries, museums, music conservatories — anything that will contribute to the higher life of San Diego, to the amusement of its hours of relaxation, to its outdoor entertainment.
. . . Those who love good music from the best composers may find what they desire in the organ recitals every afternoon under the skilled direction of Dr. Humphrey Stewart; why not offer something for everybody else?
The children especially should be allowed to use the park as their very own; for the children of this generation will be the taxpayers of the next, and if they are taught to love the park now, they will not neglect it when fathers and mothers are beyond the reach of the tax collector.
But, above all, don’t let caste enter into the direction of the park administration; don’t give privileges to the exclusion of any who ask for similar privileges. Make the park the golden asset for San Diego that every other city park in the United States is for the cities maintaining them. Throw the park wide open to those who can make it a great place of resort, and before many years the fame of the canyons, mesas, gardens, conservatories, colonies, boulevards, winding paths, forests, playgrounds, art, science and culture groups, will ring round the world.
March 21, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:4-5. San Diego Museum Notes
March 23, 1919, San Diego Union, 13:4. Plan permanent exhibit of home products at Park; Women’s Committee applies for space in one of the old Exposition buildings.
A permanent exhibit in one of the exposition buildings of home products, fruits, vegetables, canned and bottled goods and manufactured articles of every sort, is one of the plans of the board of park commissioners for a better, bigger and more prosperous San Diego, according to Secretary F. F. Grant of the park board.
The women’s home products committee has applied to the park board for space in one of the exposition buildings and the board has agreed to see that such space is provided when the exposition building preservation committee next meets.
“Balboa Park is receiving from the taxpayers of San Diego nearly $100,000 a year,” said Mr. Grant, “and the park commissioners want the taxpayers to received $200,000 worth of benefits in return for their money. During 1918, the soldiers, sailors and marines in the exposition grounds were responsible for the expending in San Diego of more than $6,000,000. Of this sum, every merchant and manufacturer, every laboring man and every citizen, no matter what his financial or social position, received a part, either directly or indirectly.
“Now that the army and navy are leaving, we want the exposition grounds used in other ways that will bring money to San Diego, advertise the city, and afford entertainment to our citizens.”
March 21, 1919, Minutes, Board of Park Commissioners. Mr. H. J. Penfold of the Panama-California International Exposition was present to arrange for settlement of accounts existing between his Department and the Exposition. Owing to a disparity between the books of the two institutions, the president appointed the executive secretary, superintendent, and building superintendent to meet with Mr. Penfold and to file a written recommendation at the next regular meeting of this Board.
March 25, 1919, San Diego Union, 10:4. Golfers organize for city; Golden Hill Club formed to play on municipal links; financial report is given; committees chosen.
March 26, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:1-2. Mayor Wilde leads in primary mayoralty race; Johnson second, Fay third.
March 27, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:3. San Diego Museum Notes.
March 27, 1919, San Diego Sun, II, 9:3. Girl Scouts to have day at Park; program arranged for Saturday at Painted Desert.
March 30, 1919, San Diego Union, 15:3. Seventy-five Boy Scouts attend weekend camp at Balboa Park; more than 100 tests were passed.
April, 1919, Park Superintendent’s Report: Wrecking of the remaining buildings on the Isthmus and at former locations of the 21st Infantry camp is progressing rapidly. There will be more good material for sale than originally estimated.
April 1, 1919, El Museo, Vol. 1, No. 1, 4. The Museum as a Clearing House of Culture and Recreation, by Grant Wallace.
In Balboa Park, only partly used, is more than a million-dollar “chuck of display advertising” which San Diego at small expense can equip and put to work again as her greatest drawing card. It is the one logical center not only of the arts, science and recreation for all the people, but for a Museum of Commerce and home products, a War Memorial Museum or historical department, as well as for the existing Natural History Museum.
April 1, 1919, El Museo, Vol. 1, No. 1, 5. The Painted Desert as a Junior Museum.
That the San Diego Museum’s tabloid “Painted Desert” of five acres may be converted into a most productive field for the cultivation of children, is shown by the following list of activities now underway or planned by the management for the free use of all of the youngsters of the San Diego region:
A Junior Museum of Natural History and School Work: collections to be made and studied by children.
Union Field Day of massed sports and contests every Saturday from 2:30 to 5 p.m., open to all, in charge of a dozen juvenile societies and schools.
Free club rooms in the Zuni, Taos and Hopi Indian pueblos for boys’ clubs and girls’ clubs.
Facilities for night campfires, and for plays and fiestas based on Indian lore and early history.
A schooling in Americanism and self government by means of a Junior Democracy of affiliated clubs.
A workshop for training in craftsmanship.
An archery court.
An Ethnological Museum with native Indian garden.
No other Children’s Museum of such broad scope and uniquely appropriate setting exits in America.
An example of the social service which an institution, untrammeled by politics, may render a city without taxing the people is seen I the action of the Museum in thus throwing open to all the children of this unique recreation center. The opening ceremonies on March 8th in charge of the celebrated author of twenty-four nature books, Ernest Thompson Seton, were attended by about 3,000 people, mostly children, who witnessed the founding of the Council of the Thunderbird of the Woodcraft League of America, of which Seton is the head. The name was suggested by the appearance overhead of aeroplanes from March Field, Riverside and Rockwell Field, specially detailed to make photographs of the opening ceremonies.
From this beginning there has evolved the regular Saturday federated field days of massed games and athletic contests in which all the boys and girls and juvenile organizations of the city and county are free to participate, from 2:30 to 5 p.m. In addition, all the youths’ clubs desiring club headquarters among the hundred rooms in the five great Indian Pueblos are granted groups of rooms by the Museum. Already clubrooms have been assigned to the Girl Scouts, Campfire Girls and Thunderbird Woodcraft Council.
To encourage the collection and study of botanical, zoological, geological, industrial and historical specimens, the Museum will aid in creating a Children’s Museum in the large entrance pueblo room of the Desert, and will equip it with cases and shelves for preserving the children’s collections, besides adding other educational material. In cooperation with the teachers of San Diego, this Junior Museum should grow into an invaluable adjunct to the city’s schools. It is hoped also that a workshop may be added, where the youngsters may receive occasional instruction in the use of tools, in making their equipment for games and in toy making and crafts work.
A Junior Democracy, whereby the juvenile club members may supply and practice self government and Americanism, through actual management of the desert community, also is in prospect, together with the production of Indian and early historical plays and pageants.
The union field day already is an assumed institution, brought about through the enthusiastic cooperation of ten or twelve of the juvenile societies of the city. These clubs take turns in supplying the program and in acting as hosts to all the other “Cliff Dwellers.” These Saturday central meets of all children’s clubs and unorganized youths, cannot fail to exert the most broadening and exhilarating effect upon the youth of the city. The leaders of the games have included Playground Superintendent Marsh and his assistants, Jack Case, athletic director of Camp Kearney, C. A. Van Dusen, Aviator and Athletic Director of Fort Bliss, Texas, and most of the members of the Supreme Council of Twelve. New healthful and humorous games and tournaments in which everybody takes part, are staged every Saturday. In addition, the small tots are given hours of story games.
How fully representative of San Diego’s juvenile organizations is the Supreme Council in charge of the Museum’s Painted Desert Union Field Day Center is shown by the personnel of the managing Council, viz.:
Frank S. Marsh, Sup. Of Municipal Playgrounds, Grand Sachem for 1919, in charge of Field Days;
Grant Wallace, head of the San Diego Museum’s division of Sociology;
- O. Wise, principal of the San Diego High School;
Ernest Thompson Seton, head of the Woodcraft League of America;
Elwood Barley, chief executive, Boy Scouts of San Diego;
George Chessum, in charge of boys’ work Y. M. C. A.;
Miss Nancy Waddell, head of the Girl Scouts of San Diego;
Miss Josephine Randall, head of the Campfire Girls of San Diego;
Miss Althea Warren, San Diego City Librarian;
Miss Jessamine Hunt, dead of Y. W. C. A. Recreation section;
Miss Ethel Dummer, Physical Director, Francis Parker School.
April 1, 1919, El Museo, Vol. 1. No. 1, A Broadening Field
To link the constantly expanding work of the Museum still more closely with the everyday needs of the people, it has become necessary to add a new department — that of Sociology — to those of the Science of Man and Ancient and Modern Arts.
The new work, which will have to do with the schools, recreation, courses of Museum lectures, Children’s Museum, publications and clubs affiliating with the Museum, under the general supervision of
Director E. L. Hewett, will be in charge of Grant Wallace, who also is secretary of the local society of the Archaeological Institute of America and Fellow of the School of American Research.
The exhibition of brilliant art work of many of the one hundred members of the San Diego Art Guild now open to the public in the Museum’s Gallery of Fine Arts and in the adjacent Guild club room is an excellent augury for the success of the new movement toward consolidating San Diego’s cultural activities in Balboa Park.
This pioneer in the movement toward the Exposition center will be followed by other organizations devoted to art, music, literature, home economy and sociology. Our plans contemplate cooperation not only in providing for their use commodious club rooms but lecture halls, classrooms, studios, club kitchenettes, tea rooms and facilities for receptions, dances and other forms of recreation.
Among the organizations which are to be given homes in the Museum buildings are”
The members of the San Diego Society of the Archaeological Institute of America.
The San Diego Society of Arts and Crafts.
The Women’s Press Club.
The San Diego Writers’ Club.
The Bungalow Society.
The Scribbler’s Club.
The Koch Writers’ League.
The Silver Gate Business Girls’ Club.
April 1, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:4-5. San Diego Museum Notes.
April 4, 1919, San Diego Sun, 1:2. City golf course will be opened tomorrow afternoon.
April 4, 1919, San Diego Sun, 8:2-3. Fletcher replies to charges made by Conard.
April 4, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:6. Salvation Army to hold meeting Sunday afternoon in Balboa Park to explain drive.
April 4, 1919, San Diego Union, 8:2-3. San Diego Municipal Band will give first public concert Sunday afternoon at Organ Pavilion.
April 5, 1919, San Diego Sun, 4:1. EDITORIAL: Mayor Wilde’s Salary.
April 5, 1919, San Diego Sun, 17:4-5. William Templeton Johnson writes about library.
April 5, 1919, San Diego Union, 8:1. New army games will be used in Painted Desert.
Many of the new games and athletic contests employed by Uncle Sam in training the Yanks for service “over there” will open to all comers at the regular “Painted Desert” juvenile field day this afternoon from 2:30 to 5 p.m. in Balboa Park. The army games and tournaments for boys of all ages will be in charge of Archie Beekley of the municipal playground commission and George Arnold, who, until recently, was athletic director and boxing instructor at Camp Lewis.
Girls of all ages will be instructed in various games by a corps of leaders headed by Miss Grace Kissinger , assistant director of city playgrounds. The smaller children will be entertained in one of the Indian pueblos with stories by Miss Helen Dysart of the city library.
All children and young people, particularly, whether members of clubs or not, are invited by the museum management to make use of the pueblo playgrounds every Saturday afternoon, and to take park in the numerous exhilarating games and contests. Provision will be made, within a few weeks, for opening a junior museum in the desert, the collections to be made and studied by the boys and girls. These collections will include natural history specimens, craft work, models, and everything of interest to children.
Car No.7 stops near the desert entrance. There is no charge for admission.
April 5, 1919, San Diego Union, 8:5. Children’s tests will continue at Balboa Park; physicians and nurses will remain at work; free health examination of children at San Diego Museum laboratory.
April 9, 1919, San Diego Sun, 1:4. Mayor Wilde winner in balloting.
April 9, 1919, San Diego Sun, 1:7. Naval Station is won by San Diego.
April 9, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:1-2. Wilde wins mayoralty by 2047 votes; four new Council members; Old Town bridge ordinance defeated in election in which 17,000 votes were cast.
April 11, 1919, San Diego Union, 11:4. Dr. Stewart will play a special program this (Friday) afternoon in honor of visiting Rotarians.
April 12, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:3. Rotarianettes are delighted with San Diego; 250 served luncheon in Pepper Grove; music program given.
From the picnic grounds the women were taken to the art museum to view the water colors by the little French children of Paris for the American Junior Red Cross.
April 12, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:4-5. San Diego Museum Notes.
The first issue of the San Diego Museum’s new periodical, “El Museo,” to be published fortnightly, will be off the press today.
The regular Saturday afternoon field day of sports and contests for both sexes will be held this afternoon at the museum’s Painted Desert.
April 13, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:3. Colonel J. L. M’Gill to take command of the marine barracks in
Balboa Park tomorrow morning; was formerly officer in charge of Paris Island Training Camp.
April 13, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:4-5. 160th Infantry due at Camp Kearny this morning; regiment will be largest unit of 40th Division to return here for sometime; others will be sent here in small bodies from time to time.
April 13, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:6. Still more men coming to Camp Kearny for discharge; portion of 91st Division has been ordered here; now on high seas.
April 15, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:4-5. Membership drive started to raise money for support of San Diego Museum at Park; museum has 300 members at present.
April 16, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:1-2. San Diego Museum Notes.
April 17, 1919, Letter, Sup’t. of Parks, formerly Exec. Sec’y of Park Dep’t, & Expo. Auditor, to the Board of Park Commissions of the City of San Diego, California
Complying with directions of your Honorable Body, the undersigned have carefully considered that statement of the Panama-California International Exposition’s account against the Park Department of the City of San Diego and the contra-account of the Park Department against the P.C.I. Exposition, and are prepared to recommend that the Board of Park Commissioners take the following action:-
(1.) That, in consideration of the fact that charges for maintenance were made by the Park Department in January and February of 1916 for the purpose of offsetting any balance that might exist against the Park Department at the close of the Exposition, you authorize the striking from the records of the two items representing said maintenance during January and February 1916.
(2.) That you authorize the acceptance of such a portion of the Exposition’s bills against the Park
Department as may be necessary to balance the account of the Park Department against the
(3.) That you authorize a letter to President Davidson of the Exposition, advising him that such
action has been taken for the purpose of making it possible for the Exposition to abide by
certain agreements make with Los Angeles subscribers, and that, in releasing its claims
against the Exposition, the Park Department is making a decided sacrifice.
(4.) That Mr. Davidson be advised in said letter that the Board of Park Commissioners expects
and insists that, in the event of any money being returned to San Diego by Los Angeles
subscribers, all of such money be given to the Park Department, as per the original
agreement between the Exposition Directors and the Board of Park Commissioners.
April 17, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:3. Development of parks outlined at Ad Club luncheon yesterday.
The regular luncheon of the Ad Club was held at the Maryland Hotel yesterday, and the program centered about the city parks. Arthur Cosgrove presided, and addresses were delivered by Judge Henry C. Ryan, president of the park board, and F. F. Grant, secretary, while the accomplishments of the working force were detailed by John Morley, superintendent, and Thomas Faulconer, executive secretary.
The decorations for the luncheon were furnished by the Park Board from Balboa Park, and the music was under the direction of Claude Webster and Fred Varin.
Superintendent Morley gave a number of pertinent suggestions concerning what should be done to increase the beauty and worth of Balboa Park. He said in part:
“It has been, and should be in the future, the policy of the Board of Park Commissioners, in the further enhancement of the landscape development of the park, to leave large areas in their natural state, including nearly all the small canyons and the large areas of the mesas, preserving all the small natural shrubs and wild flowers which grow abundantly in these places.
“In other sections of the park, development should be along general park lines, such as the planting of trees, shrubs and flowers, large expanses of lawn with open vistas, keeping in mind the finest views when the improvements are made so they are not infringed upon, with waterfalls and small lakes in some of the hills and canyons constructed and planned to give a natural effect.”
April 19, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:3. Dr. Hewett will begin lecture series on cultural history of mankind at San Diego Museum.
April 20, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:5. Balboa Park will be the scene of an international peace jubilee celebration next year if a resolution by Senator Ed Sample of Sacramento receives the same indorsement when it is presented to the national congress.
April 24, 1919, San Diego Union, Classified, 9:3. Amphion Club plans to turn Southern Counties building into a new music auditorium.
April 26, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:6. Balboa Park roses now bewitching mass of riotous color; 16,000 bushes with 96 varieties in full bloom; garden located about 200 feet north of Laurel Street entrance.
April 27, 1919, San Diego Union, 12:1-2. Many varieties of roses exhibited in California Building.
April 29, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:5-6. San Diego Museum Notes.
April 30, 1919, San Diego Union, 4-5-6. Dr. Hewett addressed Women’s Civic Center yesterday on “Balboa Park as a cultural center.”
May 1, 1919, El Museo, Vol. 1, Nos. 2 and 3, 10. The Mission Play in Balboa Park
If John S. McGroarty’s famous Mission Play had been written especially for this week’s production in the Exposition setting at Balboa Park, it hardly could have fitted more harmoniously and happily into its romantic Spanish-Colonial environment.
Performed by the large cast of real Indians, Spanish Americans who were born in the shadows of the old missions, and other mummers headed by Frederick Warde in the role of the great Padre Serra, the historical-pageant-drama in spirit and text and allusion and hand-made scenery, as well as in geography, was largely San Diegan. And yet, during its many years on the stage, this is the first time this living document incarnated from the pages of our own history has been shown here, the home of the Mother Mission of California, excepting for a brief engagement downtown.
With its three acts located at Old Town, on our Harbor of the Sun, at the Carmel Mission, and at the ruins of San Juan Capistrano, the story of the play is too well known to need representation. Aside from its interest and great value as a record of our past, the production embodies artistic features and contrasts of compelling force. The display of Indian handicraft and the brilliantly staged fiesta scene in the second act, with its native ceremonial dances and music, carry an interest and value far transcending their importance as mere entertainment.
For San Diego to fall short of giving the Mission Play adequate support would be a great pity; for we need to demonstrate anew that we can support such meritorious productions of drama and pageantry, not only because in this instance the surplus gate receipts will be devoted toward converting the Southern California counties building into a badly needed Municipal Auditorium or Festival Hall, but as an earnest that future productions (whether of this play or of others adapted to the Park environment) will be welcomed and supported.
Would it not be a most appropriate thing, if San Diego would again back (and support) the Mission Play for a long run, on an arrangement whereby the proceeds mainly would be devoted to rescuing Padre Serra’s half-forgotten first great Mission structure from complete obliteration and oblivion? The Editor visited the ruins of the San Diego Mission in March and found a buttress and the sole remaining arch tottering toward final destruction, with only two men interested enough to give evidence that anyone cares.
We hope that the Ad Club, in sponsoring the great Mission Play may demonstrate that the play’s the thing wherewith to catch the conscience of the community.
Special Events for the Painted Desert
The Supreme Council of the Painted Desert is engaged in completing its organization and in planning a series of large special events for the many juvenile societies of the city. These field days, pageant dramas, campfire story evenings and the like, will be held about once a month, beginning probably with a campfire night staged by the Y. W. C. A. girls under the direction of Miss Jessamine Hunt of the Council.
During the summer holiday period with the Saturdays given over to special events elsewhere in the Park, the Saturday union field days will be discontinued at the Desert. Meantime the Campfire Girls and Girl Scouts are engaged in equipping and beautifying the Hopi Indian houses granted to them as club houses by the Museum. When its resources permit, the Desert will be kept open constantly as a recreation center and Museum for children, in charge of a custodian and crafts instructor.
. . .
Henry Lovins is continuing his classes in applied design in the California and in Coronado.
Miss May Shelton, sculptor, of La Jolla, this month has joined the Museum art colony. She will conduct classes in modeling in the studio of Miss Edna Scofield, who is engaged on a number of orders for portraits in plaster in addition to her work in planning the casting of replicas of Maya sculptures for pilasters and panels to be used in decorating the Southwest Museum in Los Angeles.
A professor from Boston, after inspecting the wonderful bust of the million-year-old Java Man in the Science of Man building, turned to a Playground official who is a golf enthusiast and inquired:
“Pardon me, sir, but have you any ‘missing links’ on exhibition?”
“Missing links? Sure!” was the reply. “Balboa Park has two square miles of ‘em; and missing baseball grounds and tennis courts and bowling greens and places to pitch horseshoes — all missing!”
May 3, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:3. Painting loaned from private collection now hang in San Diego Museum, Balboa Park.
May 3, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:6. City Park Board asks that Judge Ryan, outgoing member, be retained in office.
May 5, 1919, San Diego Union, 4.3-6 The San Diego Advertising Club has launched a strenuous campaign for the raising of funds to be used to convert the Southern California Counties building into a civic auditorium. To give the campaign impetus and a fitting start, the Ad Club will present the famed Mission Play in the San Joaquin Building this coming week.
May 8, 1919, 8:3. Jack C. Thompson, chairman of Mission Play Committee, says San Joaquin Building is suited to play; seating arrangements excellent.
May 16, 1919, Minutes of the Board of Park Commissioners.
Upon request of Mr. Held, a motion was made, seconded and carried, christening this road “Pershing Drive.”
Mr. Held stated that Madame Schumann-Heink and other operatic stars would give a benefit concert for this road fund at the Organ Pavilion on the evening of May 24th and requested that the Exposition grounds be closed from 5 p.m. until midnight of the date except to persons holding tickets to the concert. Upon motion of Commissioner Forward, the park superintendent was directed to have the grounds closed during the hours mentioned. Permission for use of the Organ Pavilion on this date was granted on condition that this department be reimbursed for all expenses incurred and that the superintendent of parks should have supervision over all work affecting the property of the park department.
Complaint having been made concerning the conduct of patrons of the Comus Club, the president of the board stated that he would take the matter up with the district attorney to have the nuisance abated
Action on the petition for the opening and extension of Oregon Street was deferred until the commissioners should have looked over the ground.
Request of Dr. Hewett for permission to use the Sacramento Building as an art studio under the auspices of the Museum Society was denied on the grounds that this Board has not yet received any information as to the wishes of the preservation committee.
Permission given the Playgrounds Commission to held their annual May Festival on the 24th day on this month on the West side lawns, on condition that this department be reimbursed for any expenses incurred.
Authority was given the Knights of Columbus to hear a patriotic address by attorney Joe Scott of Los Angeles at the Organ Pavilion on the afternoon of June 22, on condition that same be not allowed to interfere with the regular Organ Recital.
Action on request of Service Motor Truck Corp. for landing field in Balboa Park was deferred until the full purpose of this company should be more evident.
Permission was given the Mayflower Photoplay Corp. to film a photoplay in the Exposition grounds from May 22 to June 1 on condition that they file a satisfactory bond in the amount of $500 to cover any damage that might be done to park property, and on further conditions that they should not work during the afternoon of May 24th if such work would interfere with the Schumann-Heink program, and that all work here to be done under supervision of the park superintendent.
The executive secretary was authorized to sign a certain lease received from the Marine Corps, authorizing said Marine Corps to continue for a period of one year its occupation of grounds and buildings now occupied by them with the exception of the San Joaquin Building.
The executive secretary was further authorized to request the Marine Corps to furnish necessary guards for protection of Exposition buildings and grounds during the occupation by Marine Corps of a portion of said premises.
Action was deferred on request of the city health office for palms and ferns for the decoration of that office.
Request of United States Naval Hospital for use of the bake shop building as a storeroom for supplies was granted.
Request of Oakland, California authorities for an opinion as to the relative values of various forms of park government was referred to the executive secretary with directions to advise the writer that the park commission was the only form of park government ever used in San Diego and that same had proven entirely satisfactory.
May 17, 1919, San Diego Union, 14:1. Judge H. C. Ryan is elected head of Park Boar; money for Pershing Drive should not be devoted to civic auditorium conversion.
May 18, 1919, San Diego Union, Society and Club, 1:1-2. Elaborate program of dances and drills arranged for 5th annual May festival to be held at Balboa Park next Saturday afternoon; children will sing National Anthems of allies.
May 18,1919, San Diego Union, Society and Club, 12:2. Madame Schumann-Heink will come here to sing at Organ Pavilion in interest of Pershing Memorial Saturday night, May 24.
May 19, 1919, Memorandum, Offices of Board of Park Commissioners, Administration Building, Balboa Park, San Diego, California
For and in consideration of the agreement by the United States Navy Department to pay to the City Park Department of the City of San Diego, California, the sum of $5,085.24, and to leave upon the premises all lumber and other salvage materials described in that certain estimate sheet and addenda thereto, all of which are hereto attached, the Board of Park Commissioners of the City of San Diego does hereby release the United States Navy Department from any and all responsibility for damage or damages to buildings or grounds of Balboa Park during the occupancy of said buildings and grounds by the U. S. Naval Training Station, provided, however, that this release shall not affect any claim for damage to the premises as occupied by the U. S. Naval Hospital.
(Signed) BOARD OF PARK COMMISSIONERS
By /s/ T. N. Faulconer,
/s/ Elma E. Smock
/s/ F. D. Roosevelt,
Acting Secretary of the Navy.
May 19, 1919, Letter from ________ to Captain H. C. Curl, U. S. N. Commanding U. S. N. Hospital, San Diego, Calif.
As the Naval Training Camp will definitely will close tomorrow and this department will no longer receive protection from navy sentries, guards or fire patrol, we desire to call your attention to some of the difficulties that his department faces, and to ask your aid and cooperation in the protection of city property and in maintaining the site of your hospital and all Balboa Park in the best possible condition.
Convalescent sailors recently found picking flowers and fruit have stated that they had received no orders or instructions as to their conduct or status in the park.
Drivers of automobiles and motorcycles belonging to the Naval Hospital have been violating all traffic regulations, and have stated that they were doing so in ignorance of the fact that they were required t live up to such laws. Fast driving in the Exposition grounds has resulted in serious accidents and is a menace to the lives of women and children visiting the grounds, as there are several blind approaches, where a driver going at a greater rate of speed than fifteen miles per hour could not possibly avoid an accident should pedestrians or another car reach one of these points at the wrong time.
It is requested, therefore, that definite instructions for your officers and men be posted, and that this office be furnished a copy of such instructions in order that we may aid in their enforcement. It is requested that these instructions cover the following points.
(1.) Driving in the Exposition Grounds at a greater rate of speed than 15 miles per hour.
(2.) Picking of fruits or flowers.
(3.) Entering public buildings other than those of the Navy Hospital or those open to the public.
(4.) Defacing any building, lamp post, playgrounds equipment or other park property.
Such action on your part will greatly relieve the difficult situation faced by park authorities, and will be deeply appreciated.
Very truly yours.
May 22, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:2. Schumann-Heink Day, honoring diva, to be observed by all San Diego, May 24; famous singer to give recital at Balboa Park.
May 23, 1919, Minutes of the Board of Park Commissioners.
Present: Commissioners Ryan and Grant. Absent: Commissioner Forward.
Executive Secretary’s report of refreshment stands business for weekly ending May 22nd received and ordered filed.
A committee of ladies, representing residents of that section lying just north of the Exposition grounds, appeared before the board, requesting that steps be taken to beautify the park grounds adjacent to their property. It was stated that their property was assessed high because of its proximity to the park and that a great deal of money had been spent on grading, paving and otherwise improving property in that section, while the north end of the park has been neglected to the extent that it was a detriment to their property. This committee was informed that the Board would look over the situation and, if possible, remedy the matter.
After looking over the situation at the north end of the exposition grounds the board authorized the removal of the wire fence extending west from the north gate.
A petition of property owners desiring to grade 28th street from Upas to Thorn was presented by Dr. Allen, but, in the absence of a member of the board, action was deferred until a later meeting.
Permission given the U. S. Steel Corporation to have an all-day athletic meet at the Stadium July 4th on the usual terms.
President Ryan stated that he had taken up the matter of abating the alleged nuisance at the north end of Balboa park under the name of Comus Club with the district attorney, but had not been able to make satisfactory arrangements for such abatement.
Proposed renewal of lease of buildings and grounds to U. S. Marine Corps was ordered held until a later meeting, pending the possible definite close of the war prior to expiration of the Marine Corps’ present lease.
Request of Miss Hulda Hanker for refund of the 15 percent commission charged by the park department as a rental for the use of the Organ Pavilion was received and action thereon deferred.
Permission was given the Washington school students to hold a picnic at the Pepper Grove and on the West side lawns all day June 7th.
The superintendent was authorized to give to Mrs. Thansen of Point Loma the ground robin from the Horticultural Building aviary.
Permission was given the Girl Scouts to have an aquatic drill in the lagoon May 31st for the purpose of having the same photographed by Pathe Weekly moving picture corporation.
May 23, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:2. Schumann-Heink asks all to aid Pershing Drive concert.
May 23, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:3. Filming of “Soldiers of Fortune: begun yesterday in Balboa Park; Alan Dwan director; permission to use Marine Corps obtained through efforts of the Publicity Bureau of the Chamber of Commerce.
May 24, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:1. EDITORIAL: A Perfect Memorial . . . regarding Madame Schumann-Heink’s concert in aid of Pershing Drive; “an everlasting memorial embodied in imperishable art.”
May 25, 1919, San Diego Union, 2:1-2. Schumann-Heink sings to nearly 7,000 people at organ; pleads for unity in advancing city; receipts estimated at between $3,000 and $10,000.
With all the force, all the enthusiasm, all the heart interest and all the supreme artistry which have made her the world’s greatest and best loved diva, Madame Schumann-Heink sang for her army of sons — the soldiers and sailors of the United States — at the Spreckels Organ Pavilion in Balboa Park last evening. Through all her program and in every gesture, almost every word, this mother of the soldiers exerted every effort for the success of the monument which is to be built, as he expressed it, for her own flesh and blood — the park’s Pershing Drive, which will commemorate the part taken by San Diego county in the preservation of humanity.
And if, in her program selections, she was before all else, the most finished of artists, in her actions and in every word she addressed to the audience, she was “Mother” Schumann-Heink, the friend and lover of San Diego, as she is the friend and mother to every boy in khaki or in blue. She sang of the soldiers in Picardy and France, and of the long, long roads to home, and of the hearts that are waiting there for those who left to attempt the great adventure, and then, as if tired of her great art, she spoke in simple, womanly phrases of the love which all should have in the thoughts of San Diegans.
“We should not forget what the boys have done,” she said. “Let us work for them and for San Diego, the most wonderful city in the world, and I know the world — I have seen it here and there, and I know. I talk so much about San Diego that they get tired of me and send me back to this city, and send the navy so that I have to come.”
Then with a little sob, she continued:
“You see, I am selfish. I have four boys in the navy.”
Her efforts were well rewarded. Nearly 7,000 people thronged the Pavilion in front of the great pipe organ, and the receipts of the evening, which are to be devoted to the drive to be built through Balboa Park in commemoration of San Diego’s part in the world war, are estimated at between $8,000 and $10,000.
With Madame Schumann-Heink were Frank La Forge, accompanist, who is now recognized as perhaps America’s leading composer, and Ernesto Beruman, who has been declared by critics to be one of the world’s foremost pianists, and the greatest artist who has ever left Mexico. In their efforts last evening, both of these proved themselves worthy of a participation in the triumphs of the famous contralto, whom they have accompanied during all of the present concert season.
After a series of selections by the band of the 32nd Infantry, Camp Kearny, Madame Schumann-Heink stepped to the edge of the organ platform amid an ovation. Then, as La Forge struck the first bars of the Vitelia aria, by Mozart, her voice rose above the applause, and the golden notes which have thrilled hundreds of thousands of admirers throughout the musical world, rang out through the flower-scented spaces of the beautiful plaza.
When the last tone had died away, Mary-Elizabeth and Katherine Pendleton, the little daughters of J. M. Pendleton, secretary of the war camp community service, presented to the diva two immense bouquets of roses, after which the singer launched into MacDowell’s “They Beaming Eyes.”
Beruman then began his first group of piano selections, but while he played the opening bars of the first, Mr. John D. Spreckels donor of the organ and pavilion and a warm friend of the diva, came to the rest rooms behind the organ proper. As he entered the room, Madame Schumann-Heink, with a tear in her eye, advanced toward him, saying, “My dear, dear friend.”
Then, throwing her arms about his shoulders, she kissed him on the cheek and led him to a chair, where they conversed until the time came for her reappearance on the platform.
Beruman, from the beginning of his first group of offerings, showed himself to be all the artist which he had been heralded. His selections were happily chosen — “Ballet of the Happy Spirits,” Gluck-Friedman; “Minuette,” Haydn; and “Dance,” Beethoven. As he concluded, he also was presented with a bouquet, after which he rendered Godard’s “Novellosas.”
Schumann-Heink followed with five songs in English, “My Heart Ever Faithful,” by J. S. Bach; “The Home Road” by Carpenter; “Have You Seen Him in France?” by Ward-Stephens; “Taps,” arranged by Pasternack; and “When Pershing’s Men Go Marching Into Picardy,” by Oley Speaks.
In “Taps,” with its martial air, so well adapted to the forceful personality of the diva, she scored her greatest success of the evening, and the applause continued for several minutes. As she turned to leave the platform, Lieut. Inez Cullison, of the Salvation Army, presented here with a large cluster of gladiolas and larkspur, as an appreciation of her recent gift of $500 to that organization. As she took the flowers, she kissed the Army lassie, and spoke a few works of thanks.
Beruman then played his second group, consisting of “Romance” by La Forge, Schumann-Heink’s accompanist, and “Tarantelle” by Lizst. The contralto followed with a rendition of La Forge’s “Before the Crucifix,” after which she began one of the short speeches for which she is so well known.
“I desire first,” she said to tell you that Mr. La Forge, who composed this beautiful song, is one of America’s foremost artists and composers. And together we have been going to the camps, to the hospitals, wherever we could reach the soldiers and sailors, whose mother I am. For, of all who are on this earth, the best are the army and navy boys.
“If it rains, if the stones come down, I don’t care when I say this. If you in San Diego who have conceived this great memorial, would stop your scrapping among yourselves and advance in one body to the good of your beautiful city, what could you do! You have been the first to recognize the honor due to our sainted dead. Let us continue this spirit. Now I will sing you an Indian love song. They say the Indians make love this way — I don’t know.”
The song was Thurlow Lieurance’s “Indian Love Song,” and, as an encore, she sang Adtitti’s “Bolero.”
Dr. H. J. Stewart, exposition organist, then took his place at the keyboard, and the great singer closed her program with a stirring vocalism of “The Star Spangled Banner.”
After the program an informal reception was held behind the organ, where Madame Schumann-Heink again expressed her love for San Diego, “For which,” she said, “the best is none too good.”
The diva, accompanied by La Forge and Beruman, will go to Los Angeles today for an appearance there, when they will return to San Diego. On Friday she leaves for a tour of the northwest.
May 25, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:3. Ten thousand watched as schoolchildren played around May Poles in Balboa Park yesterday afternoon.
May 29, 1919, Letter L. C. Webster, Captain Q. M. Corps, Office Post Supply Officer, San Diego Barracks, San Diego, California, to Board of Park Commissioners, San Diego, California
Subject: Cancellation lease, Camp W. R. Taliaferro, California.
- Under the provisions of Article 8 of lease dated June 12, 1918, entered into between your Board and Captain John R. Brooke, Jr., 21st Infantry, for certain land in Balboa Park, San Diego, Cal., at a yearly rental of $1.00 for use of troops and known as Camp W. R. Taliaferro, Cal., you are notified that said land will not be required on or after June 3, 1919, and the Government hereby relinquishes and gives up possession of same, effective June 3, 1919.
(Signed) L. C. Webster
Captain, Q. M. Corps.
May 30, 1919, San Diego Union, 7:4. More than 5,000 persons gathered at the Plaza on the Exposition grounds yesterday afternoon to watch Alan Dwan and his company film scene of “Soldiers of Fortune.”
May 31, 1919, Notice of Renewal, War Department, Real Estate Service, Office of the Chief of the Real Estate Service, Washington, to Board of Park Commissioners, San Diego, Calif.
In accordance with Article 9 of the following lease:
LESSOR: Board of Park Commissioners of the City of San Diego, Calif.
LESSEE: United States of America
DATED: June 18, 1918 EFFECTIVE: July 1, 1918 EXPIRES: June 30, 1919
PREMISES: San Diego, Calif.
Portion of Balboa Park in Exposition Grounds, bound by Isthmus, Indian Village and the Alameda, south line of tractor shed and a westerly line from S. W. corner of said tractor shed to the west fence of exposition and exposition fence. Also Cavalry Camp.
You are hereby notified that the United States of America does hereby exercise the privilege of renewal contained in said lease, and does hereby renew same for the government fiscal year 1920, namely, July 1st, 1919 to June 30, 1920, of if said renewal privilege does not grant the right of renewal to June 30, 1920 then to such intermediate period nearest to June 30, 1920 as is granted in said lease.
Kindly acknowledge receipt of this notice.
(Signed) G. F. Woods
Chief, Real Estate Service
May 31, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:7, 5:2-6. Heroes honored by city; veterans of European war in line with older fighters of nation to pay tribute to those who gave their lives; army and navy swell long line of parade; General Strong, commander of Camp Kearny, one of speakers at Organ Pavilion; cheered loudly
June 1, 1919, El Museo, Vol. 1, Nos. 4 and 5, 5. Los Angeles Woodcrafters to camp at Painted Desert.
Harry C. James, head ranger for Los Angeles of the Woodcraft League of America has arranged with the San Diego Museum for a three-day camping sojourn in the Painted Desert for the boys of Woodcraft. The tribes will arrive on Saturday the 21st of June and remain until Tuesday the 24th.
(See “El Museo” for balance of article.)
Girl Scouts in Feature Film
Five hundred Girl Scouts from San Diego, Fallbrook, Escondido, La Jolla, Coronado, Ocean Beach, Lemon Grove, Loma Portal and Roseville were present for the filming of the Girl Scouts picture which was made at the Museum’s Painted Desert June 1, for Pathe. One of the big features of the picture was the handing over of the “keys” of the Hopi House by Grant Wallace of the Museum to Miss Nancy B. Waddell, county director of Girl Scouts.
(See “El Museo” for balance of article.)
Campfire Girls Decorate the “Desert”
The Katyimo Campfire Girls spent June 7 and 9 at their Hopi clubhouse . . . preparing the ground for a Victory garden, plaiting floor mats from tules gathered east of town and weaving baskets from the long Torrey pine needled gathered in the park. These articles, made under the direction of Mrs. Richard Dawson, will be used in decorating the Hopi house.
(See “El Museo” for balance of article.)
June 6, 1919, Minutes, Board of Park Commissioners.
Present: Commissioners Ryan, Grant and Forward.
Report of the executive secretary upon business of refreshment stand for the two week period ending June 5 received and ordered filed.
Upon motion duly made and carried, the park superintendent was directed to give possession of the San Joaquin Building to the U. S. Marine Corps, pending expiration of their present lease upon that and other buildings.
Upon motion of Mr. Forward, seconded by Mr. Grant and unanimously carried, the superintendent was directed to remove at his earliest convenience the wire fence surrounding the Exposition Grounds, also the wooden entrances at the North, South and West Gates.
Permission was given Henry Lovins to use as an art studio the northwest room on the second floor of the Sacramento building on condition that the tenant shall pay for the electric current consumed by him and shall reimburse this department for any expense incurred through his occupancy of the premises. Tenancy to be terminated at the will of the board.
Permission given property owners to grade 28th street from Upas to Thorn under supervision of park superintendent.
Request of E. B. Grey for permission to retain his studio near south gate of the Exposition grounds denied. Executive secretary was informed that he might purchase Mr. Grey’s photographs or other stock that might be handled as a profit in the refreshment stand, and that Mr. Grey or anyone else was privileged to take pigeon pictures and handle them upon a commission basis through the refreshment stand.
The request of the Zoological Society for appointment of Joseph Mutters as Zoo keeper was referred back to the Common Council to be acted upon in accordance with provisions of ordinance No. 7612.
Upon motion of Mr. Forward, seconded by Mr. Grant, and unanimously carried, the executive secretary was directed to strike from the records of this Department the items charged against the Panama-California International Exposition for the maintenance of grounds during January and February of 1916, and to accept such claims of the Exposition against the Park Department as might be necessary to balance the account.
Mr. Forward was appointed a committee of one to interview the Los Angeles stockholders in the Exposition and to make an effort to have any balance left in the treasury of the Panama-California International Exposition returned to the Park Department for use in making some permanent improvement.
The Superintendent was directed to remove the trees in the northeast portion of the park in line with Oregon street.
The Superintendent was directed to remove erect two new toilets in Golden Hill section to replace those destroyed by the recent brush fire and to connect same with sewer.
Upon motion of Mr. Forward, the superintendent was directed to remove the public campgrounds from its present location to the northwest section of the Exposition grounds and to remove the fence surrounding the present camp site.
Upon motion, it was ordered that campers be required to secure permits from the park department office and that such permits be limited to thirty days.
Mr. Grant stated that he was making an effort to secure transportation for the transfer of the park elk to the Cleveland Game Refuge, and the superintendent was advised that such transfer probably would be made within the coming week.
There being no further business, the meeting adjourned.
June 9, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:4. Three thousand take part in first “sing” at Organ Pavilion; Wallace E. Moody of War Camp Community Service directed.
June 10, 1919, Letter, Executive Secretary of Board of Park Commissioners, to Panama-California International Exposition, Southern Trust and Commerce Bank, San Diego, Cal.
Attention of Mr. G. A. Davidson, President.
Acting in accordance with the recommendation of a committee consisting of J. G. Morley, Jerome B. Pendleton and T. N. Faulconer, the Board of Park Commissioners has directed that the charge against you for maintenance of Exposition Grounds during the months of January and February, 1916, be canceled, and that sufficient of the Exposition claim against the park department be accepted to offset the balance still due this department from the Exposition.
I am directed to advise you that the Board of Park Commissioners has taken this step solely for the purpose of enabling the Exposition to fulfill the agreement with the Los Angeles stockholders, and not because the Park Commissioners do not consider the park department morally and legally entitled to the balance due this department in our books.
I am further directed to say that his commission is made upon condition that should the Los Angeles stockholders or any of them decided to return this money or any part of it to San Diego, all of such money shall come to the park department direct.
The Board of Park Commissioners depends upon your directorate to see that this provision is carried out and has placed the matter in your hands, knowing that you will appreciate the sacrifice this department has made and use your influence in our behalf.
It has been suggested and favorably looked upon by the Board of Park Commissioners, that should this money be returned to the park department, some permanent improvement be installed or some building restored, and Los Angeles be given due credit therefor.
The Park Commissioners are disposed to expend this money in a manner satisfactory to the Los Angeles stockholders, and any suggestion from them would be welcomed.
Thanking you for your efforts and interest that we feel sure you will devoted to securing this fund for us, I am,
Very truly yours.
June 11, 1919, Letter, A. J. Hanlon, Lt. Col. A. S. (A), J. M. A., War Department Air Service Flying School, San Diego, California, to Board of Park Commissioners, San Diego, California.
In a recent letter of Mr. J. G. Morley, Supt. of Park, we endeavored to get some shrubs and trees for planting at this Field, but Mr. Morley replied that he had no surplus stock on hand at present and suggested that we write the Board regarding our request for 175 honeysuckle palms and ten small palms.
Vines and trees are badly needed here to use as a wind break and to beautify the Post and if it is possible to get anything of this nature which you might accumulate it would be greatly appreciated by this command.
(Signed) A. J. Hanlon
Lt. Col. A. S. (A), J. M. A.
June 16, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:6. Balboa Elk Herd Roams Fields in Cleveland Park; animals taken to Laguna mountains in trucks without single mishap.
A round dozen of elk, three bucks and nine does, from the Balboa park herd are today roaming the wilds of the Laguna mountains in the Cleveland game and forest preserve, having been taken by the order of the board of park commissioners, in city trucks to the most verdant and inaccessible parts of the national forest and given their freedom.
The animals were herded and driven aboard trucks at the park elk corrals without serious mishap, and the 70-mile drive to the Lagunas was accomplished without injury to any of the animals, other than a few abrasions where the delicate horns, still in the velvet, came into occasional contact with the sides or tops of the trucks.
- N. Faulconer, executive secretary of the park board, who had charge of the transfer of the elk, said that the animals arrived in fine condition and, with the exception of one irate buck, gave no trouble. This fellow, when unloaded from the truck, ran amuck and stampeded campers, Indians and others who had gathered to see the animals set free. L. E. Marshall, a ranch baron of the vicinity, rode his crop-eared mare into the midst of the exciting scene and doubtless would have bested the buck but for the fact that said crop-eared mare refused to remain in the vicinity when the buck charged.
Regarding the removal of the elk to the mountains, F. F. Grant, secretary of the park commission, said:
“We have tried for the last year or two to get the major part of our elk herd removed to a more suitable location, but, owing to lack of transportation, we have had to keep them in the park until now, despite the fact that we realized the unsuitableness of the conditions under which they were corralled. It was not possible for us to given them as much room as they required, and we knew that they would thrive on deer brush and other mountain plants better than on the expensive food they were given each day in their corral.
“The park commissioners are deeply grateful to the city and country authorities for their aid in the matter of transportation, also to Forest Supervisor M. R. Tillotson and District Ranger Scarcy, who aided us in every way possible, and who have undertaken the protection and supervision of the herd in their new quarters.
“We have kept a buck and two doe in the park for exhibit purposes.”
June 19, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:6. Mayor Wilde favors selling 500 acres of Balboa Park to get money for El Capitan dam, a municipal pier and a city hall; all Council members approve.
June 22, 1919, San Diego Union, 9:4. Joseph Scott, prominent Los Angeles attorney, to speak this afternoon at Organ Pavilion on “American ideals.”
June 22, 1919, San Diego Union, 11:1. Woodcraft Boys to hold camp in Painted Desert.
Attracted by the beauty of Balboa Park and the great collections of Indian exhibits at the museum and by the weird setting of the Painted Desert as a campsite, boys from Ernest Thompson Seton’s Woodcraft League arrived from Hollywood and Los Angeles by steamer last evening, to hold campfire powwows and barbecues for four nights around the pueblo Indian villages of the museum.
. . .
Through the cooperation of the park board, motion pictures will be made of the camp activities to be released through the Pathe News service, thus advertising San Diego’s attractions throughout the country.
June 22, 1919, San Diego Union, 11:1-2. Three new art exhibits opened to public in main buildings of San Diego Museum at Park.
Three new art exhibits were thrown open to the public yesterday in two of the main buildings of the San Diego Museum. In the main gallery of the Fine Arts building, the San Diego Art Guild opened an exhibition of 76 works of art by local artists, many of the paintings and all of the dozen or more casts being shown for the first time. In the guild clubroom next door is the one-man show of 20 watercolors of desert Indian scenes by the California artist, poet and antiquarian, Carl Oscar Borg; and in the Science of Man building is shown a series of over 50 pen and pencil sketches of the great war made by Jonas Malm, of the 316th engineers, 91st division, now a resident of San Diego.
(See “San Diego Union” for balance of article.)
June 22, 1919, San Diego Union, 15:4-5. Article in June issue of “El Museo” devoted to “Our Museum Buildings as Superb Models for California Architecture,” written by Grant Wallace.
June 22, 1919, San Diego Union, Society and Club, 10:4-5. Dr. Edgar L. Hewett, San Diego Museum head, elected president American Federation of Arts.
June 23, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:8. “Community Sing” yesterday afternoon pleased 3,000.
June 24, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:1. EDITORIAL: San Diego’s Park . . . favoring proposal to sell park acreage.
June 25, 1919, San Diego Union, 14:2. Farmers plan Fair in old Exposition building during September; portion of rotating fund now subscribed; supervisors asked to give money.
Farmers, ranchers and horticulturists of San Diego county are perfecting plans for the first county fair to be held in the old exposition buildings Balboa park for the last four days of September.
Already $1800 of a $2000 rotating fund to finance the preliminary operating expenses have been raised, and the county board of supervisors has been asked for an appropriation of $1500 for premiums.
Farmers and livestock men of Lakeside, Escondido, El Cajon, Fallbrook, Ramona, Poway, Encinitas, Bonsall, Potrero, Chula Vista, Oceanside and three or four other districts are united in their efforts to make the fair an immense success.
The farmers will have complete charge of the fair, and large business concerns are to be invited to invest small amounts in premiums, cups, ribbons and cash to stimulate interest I the displays. An admission of about 25cents will be charged, and the concessions will include restaurants and refreshment booths.
Members of the executive committee in charge of arrangements are G. T. Drinkwater, Lakeside, chairman; W. A. Kent, peach grower of Poway; Felix Landis, El Cajon; J. F. Stanley and O. E. Hollway of San Diego, representing the chamber of commerce.
The fair will be given under the auspices of the Farm Bureau of California and will be one of a series of county fairs staged throughout the state.
Only products of San Diego county will be exhibited.
June 26, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:3. Legality of park land sale up to City Attorney.
June 26, 1919, San Diego Union, 4-4-5. Lyman Gage says Balboa Park is “a white elephant.”
June 28, 1919, San Diego Union, 14:2. Park Board seeks change in water law.
June 30, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:3. Charles R. Baker, manager of San Carlo Grand Opera Company, says park site idea for show house; supports reuse of Southern California Counties building.
July, 1919, El Museo, Vol. 1, Nos. 6 and 7. Red Men from Many Cities to Hold Big Powwow in the Painted Desert.
. . . the Order of Red Men, having discovered here the aboriginal villages of Taos, Zuni and Hopiland, are to descend upon the Desert in force on September 1, 2 and 3, for the greatest ceremony of all. This period will include Saturday, Sunday and Labor Day.
. . .
The Museum this month is fitting up the north Hopi House of seven rooms, formerly the headquarters of Col. O’Neill of the 21st regiment, to be occupied by a member of the museum staff. Also a custodian of the desert soon will be installed in the south pueblo of Taos.
July 1, 1919, Letter, Executive Secretary, Board of Park Commissioners, to Major Long, Quartermaster, U. S. Marine Corps, San Diego, Cal.
Regarding renewal of lease to Marine Corps of premises now occupied by U. S. Marines in Balboa Park, I wish to advise that action has been deferred until the afternoon of Friday, July 11, at which time the Board of Park Commissioners will be glad to hear any reasons that you or the commanding officer may have to advance in favor of including the San Joaquin Building in the new lease.
It will be well to take up at that time the matter of securing permission to cut a hole in the floor of that building, if included in the lease. As the Board doubtless will act upon recommendation of the superintendent, Mr. Morley, I would suggest that you have him look over the proposed alteration in advance.
The board will be in session from 3 o’clock to 4:30 o’clock on the afternoon of July 11.
Very truly yours,
July 3, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:4. Civic bodies name committee to go after auditorium; representatives of local organizations to consider Seven Counties building; names of committee given.
July 3, 1919, San Diego Union, 7:5. Arrangements for an honor program and community sing at the Organ Pavilion were completed yesterday; ceremonies will be under auspices of War Camp Community Service; Wallace Moody will be song leader.
July 6, 1919, San Diego Union, 9:3-4. Miss Annie Broderick, mezzo-soprano, to sing Sunday at Organ Pavilion.
July 8, 1919, San Diego Union, 9:1-3. City publicity campaign launched yesterday at meeting of drive for a fund of $200,000 with which to advertise San Diego in the Midwest after completion of San Diego and Arizona Railway.
July 11, 1919, San Diego Union, Classified, 9:4. Park Board turned down request of Cecil De Mille for aviation landing place at Balboa Park; De Mille is thinking of extending a commercial air route to San Diego; Commissioner Forward said the Commission might reconsider when aviation becomes a more stabilized commercial industry, under government control of air routes.
July 13, 1919, San Diego Union, 13:4. Irving Gill designs duplex apartment for Louis J. Wilde in Coronado (sketch).
July 13, 1919, San Diego Union, Society and Club, 3:4. John Doane, organist, to be heard at Organ Pavilion today, assisted by Mrs. Lolita Rowan, contralto.
July 15, 1919, San Diego Union, Classified, 9:4. Dr. Stewart back from vacation; will be heard at Organ Pavilion today; during his absence organ was cleaned and regulated.
July 15, 1919, San Diego Union, 10:4-5. John Doane played to large audience at Organ Pavilion last night.
July 20, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:6-7. Luella K. Hedges, secretary, San Diego Humane Society, writes letter complaining about small quarters for large animals at zoo and urging contributions to erect better quarters.
July 20, 1919, San Diego Union, 13:1-3. New houses at Naval Air Station here picturesque Spanish features; designed by Bertram Goodhue, New York architect; erected by Lange and Bergstrom; 17 buildings to house officers, men and equipment; construction cost $1,250,000 (feature article).
July 21, 1919, Letter, Executive Secretary, Board of Park Commissioners, to Commanding Officer, Marine Barracks, Balboa Park San Diego, Cal.
Complying with your request, the Board of Park Commissioners has directed that a permit for use of the San Joaquin Valley Building as a shooting gallery be issued to you, and authority for such use I herein contained.
Permission is given for the cutting of a hole in the floor of this building, 20″ by 72″.
This permit is conditioned upon your acceptance of the following terms:
(1.) That no alterations or repairs be made except under supervision of the park
(2.) That the said buildings shall be returned in as good condition as when you received
Very truly yours.
July 25, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:3-4. San Diego Museum Notes
The Balboa Park Board has turned top floor of Sacramento Building over to San Diego Museum Association, to be converted to art studios. Federation of State Societies and girls’ division of War Camp Community Service are considering making their headquarters in association with the museum. About a dozen clubs and societies already have been provided with meeting places and lecture rooms by the museum.
July 25, 1919, San Diego Union, 11:1. Harold Ostrom, baritone, to sing at regular Sunday concert presented by civic music committee of the War Camp Community Service.
July 26, 1919, San Diego Union, Classified, 9:3. Exercises for Czecho-Slovak soldiers now stationed at Camp Kearny will be held tomorrow afternoon at 2 o’clock at the Organ Pavilion.
July 27, 1919, San Diego Union, 7:3. Czecho-Slovak soldiers to sing of glories of new country at Organ Pavilion.
July 28, 1919, San Diego Union, Classified, 9:2-3. Two republics glorified in songs of Czech heroes; 5,000 Americans attend celebration at Spreckels organ; native tree of Bohemia planted; bronze memorial unveiled to commemorate visit of soldiers.
July 29, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:2. Official program for entertainment of Secretary Josephus Daniels and Pacific fleet at San Diego, August 6-8; sailors to picnic at Balboa Park August 8; address by Secretary Daniels at Organ Pavilion; recital in evening; dancing of enlisted men on Plaza de Panama.
July 30, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:6. READERS’ VIEWPOINT: F. A. Binney wants canyon close to Laurel Street bridge to be utilized for zoological garden; complains about ducks and geese now cooped up in a small cage with a bucket of water on west side of park.
August, 1919, California Garden, Vol. 1, No. 2. Park Department Notes by J. G. Morley, Superintendent of City Parks.
The park system of San Diego has an area of approximately 2,000 acres, which comprises Balboa Park, 1,400 acres; Torrey Pines Park, 290 acres; Soledad Park, 118 acres; Collier Park, 65 acres; La Jolla Park, 5 acres; Mission Hills Park, 5 acres; Mountain View Park, 15 acres, and a number of smaller areas set aside for Park purposes some of which have been improved, namely New Town Park and the Plaza.
Balboa Park lies practically in the heart of the city. Few large parks being located so conveniently for the use of the public. The topography has a more varied character than that of any other park so situated. The beautiful views of the mountains, bay and ocean are unsurpassed by any city.
It has been and should in the future be the policy of the Board of Park Commissioners, in the further enhancement of the landscape development of the Park, to leave large areas in their natural state, including nearly all the small canyons and large areas on the mesas, preserving all the native shrubs and wild flowers during the Spring season and in the summer the grayish color of the foliage during the war, dry weather.
In other sections of the Park development should be along general Park lines, such as the planting of trees, shrubs and flowers, large expanses of lawn with open vistas, keeping in mind the finest views when the improvements are made, so they are not infringed upon, with waterfalls and small lakes in some of the canyons, constructed and planted to give a natural effect.
Ball fields, tennis courts, bowling greens, golf courses, picnic grounds, etc. should be installed so that the people of the city may reap the full enjoyment of the park. This treatment should be followed in all parks where there is room for those features of enjoyment.
The building of a fine system of roads, trails and bridle paths to wind around the hills and on the mesas would make them inviting to the people to enjoy, whichever they care to use.
The climatic conditions of San Diego are excellent for park developments as nearly all the world may be drawn upon to provide suitable trees, shrubs and flowering plants and bulbs, a boon that few cities enjoy. Australian, New Zealand, South America, China, Japan and South America furnish a large number of the variety of trees, shrubs and flowers that are used in the development of the park system, as well as the native varieties of the United States and Europe. At the present time we are experimenting with varieties that we received from the Government collectors in Foreign countries.
Torrey Pines Park will always be noted as the native habitat of the Torrey Pine. This tree is found only at this place and an adjoining are, the property of Miss Scripps of La Jolla, and should by all means belong to the Park system as the finest trees grown on that area. The rugged character of this park is one of its chief points of beauty and the views obtained from the hills and cliffs along the ocean are unsurpassed.
Realizing the importance of this park, the Park Commissioners are having plans made for a caretaker’s residence and also providing for the furnishing of refreshments and other necessary accommodations for visitors, to be created when funds are available.
The cost of improvement in the San Diego Park Commissioners are having plans made for which, in nearly all sections is underlain with hardpan, necessitating the use of powder and dynamite before planting can be done. The results obtained, I believe, had proven a success, which is attested by the growth of the trees and shrubs.
During 1914, ten tons of 40 percent dynamite was used. This does not include the large quantity used in the Exposition grounds. This gives you an idea what we have to contend with in our park improvements.
Since January 1, 1912, 285,092 trees and shrubs and 969,556 flowering plants and bulbs have been planted. This does not include these that were planted in the Exposition grounds prior to 1915.
The fine Stadium in Balboa Park is a feature not possessed by any other park system in the country. It is one of the centers of attraction, and is in continual used by the High School and others for athletic games, baseball, football, etc. Eight hundred and ninety six games were held during 1918, including 824 for practice and 72 scheduled games and events. For the first time the Stadium was self-supporting during 1918.
During 1917-18 the Board of Park Commissioners have had a very active part in providing facilities for the Army and Navy. The occupancy of the main buildings and the Exposition grounds by the Naval Training Station, the State section by the Marine Corps, and the North section by the 21st Infantry entailed a great deal of extra work for the Commissioners and the administrative forces. Every courtesy possible was extended to each branch of the Government. Flowers were furnished by the Commission to all Army and Navy hospitals twice a week and to Camp Kearny once a week. The Commission also furnished thousands of plants to the various camps so that they could be made more homelike and cheerful, and I feel sure that the efforts of the Commission have been appreciated by the officers and enlisted men.
Expenditures in the Park Department from January 1, 1912 to January 1, 1919, amounted to $864,970.04. This includes the Bond funds for general park improvement and the building of the Stadium, but does not include the Exposition grounds prior to 1915. The following is the amount expended each year:
1912 $ 73,743.86
The chief income of the department comes from the tax levy, not less than 8 cents or more than
12 cents on the $100.00 valuation, which this year will provide about $91,000.00. Other sources of income will probably bring the total to about $100,000.00.
I believe the people generally appreciate the efforts of the Park Commissioners to develop the park system, which in a few years will be the equal in beauty of any city of its size in the country.
August, 1919, California Garden, Vol. 11, No. 2, 7. The Formal Garden, Balboa Park, by Fidella G. Woodcock.
While the beauty of the hills invited to fresh inspiration in the nearing heat of summer and the mountain springs are doing their best to enrich the wastes of soil with new bacteria from air and earth, and life itself seems to each of us but a handful of germs consuming, vying with one another for supremacy, the time is here to look within our four square to wipe out the microbes most hostile to well being.
The formal garden, truly designed to display the perfect relation of the individual plant or flower to the whole, gives plenty of scope for a sense of fitness in working out space and color values.
The hardy Pentstemon, perhaps the most interesting of bedding plants at this season, especially Pentstemon gloxinoides, in a depth of green, surpasses all the year around the perennials that we can hardly name or even count. In nature, in the wild, the Pacific coast is rich in beautiful pentstemons, a type that is brought down from the high coast latitudes to a space within our parks and landscapes for shapely growth.
Pentstemons: – five stamens suggest other flowering plants denoted by beautiful stamens, the golden Hypericum, the fringe tree, the bottle brushes, so closed allied to the red-flowered eucalyptus of our park avenues at this season, and the veronicas with their background of evergreen acacias.
But speaking of the background effect gives a touch of reality to the subject of the Formal garden in Balboa Park at the Southern California Counties Building. The upper walk is lined with some of the most graceful forms of horticultural interest, the conifers.
Cupressus torulosa, Chamaecyparis pisifera var. plumosa-aurea, a group of Cryptomeria japonica, the Japanese redwood, and on the opposite corner heavily fruited cedars, Thuja.
Shading the walk on each side are combinations of the desert gum, Eucalyptus rudis, with several variations and the hickory gum, Eucalyptus puncata, known commonly as “Leather Jacket,” added to the Mediterranean pine. Pinus halepensis in the corner. The principal avenue tree of this section is Sterculia diversifolia, now in bloom. This species is often erroneously called “the bottle tree,” which is really Sterculia rupestris, that has trunk well rounded at the base. Both are related to Sterculia acerifolia, the flame tree at Mission Cliff Garden, so brilliant with scarlet flowers in the spring time before the foliage appears.
A few of the acacias are represented in the southeast corner. Acacia retinodes, a narrow leafed form, now in bloom, whose seeds have a red rim as distinguished from Acacia neriifolia, that is very similar, having a white band around the seed. These, with Acacia Baileyana, the favorite and prolific acacia of the drives, so well known throughout the south are all evergreen.
For simple economy the lavish wealth of the formal garden is lost without its well-trimmed borders of box and classic myrtle, Myrtus communis, used by the ancients to make wreaths for the victors, worn, too, as a mark of distinction of the chief magistrates at feasts served there. And the aroma of the leaves and fruit makes it of commercial importance in the manufacture of perfumery.
In trimmed hedges a small leafed myrtle is mingled with the classic form. It is Myrtus microphylla, a diminutive growth with long pointed leaves. But in order to preserve the true relations of color effect repetition of the same plants differently arranged is not only desirable but essential to composition. Distinct geometrical lines often overbear with rigid outlines. A contrast of over arching branches as of Cotoneaster pyracacantha and Duranta plumieri, a happy combination of verbena-like, violet flowers and fruit that gives it the appropriate name of the golden dewdrop and its metallic hue and green, often variegated with white foliage, form a blend with other under shrubs and border annuals. In the way of familiar names the Spanish broom, the genistas, and the virburnums more has already been said than I can give in one months calendar. The legendry of the flower calendar sometimes overflows with rare and farfetched imagery. Still in the heart of all things, there is a likeness, the analogy, that makes harmony complete.
August 1, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:1. Preparations are being made at the U. S. Naval Hospital, Balboa Park, to receive the sick officers and sailors in the new Pacific fleet when it arrives in San Diego. It is expected that there will be several hundred out of the 20,000 men who may need medical attention at the end of the long voyage from the Atlantic coast to this city.
At present there are less than 100 patients in the Naval Hospital, these being from North Island, the radio station, and the various ships in the harbor. The hospital will accommodate 500 patients, wards being arranged for officers and enlisted men.
August 1, 1919, San Diego Union, 16:1. Association for Advancement of Colored People will entertain at Organ Pavilion tomorrow afternoon; Dr. Edgar Hewett, San Diego Museum, will give principal address.
August 2, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:7. A judgment of $8,700 obtained in 1915 against the Panama Canal concession company at the Exposition yesterday was reaffirmed against a number of Orange and Los Angles county stockholders.
August 2, 1919, San Diego Union, 11:2. Mrs. Andrew Thaanum, soprano, to sing at regular Sunday recital at 4:30 p.m.
August 5, 1919, San Diego Union, Classified, 9:5. Preceding Secretary Daniels’ address a half-hour concert will be given by the great outdoor organ and the Coronado tent city band.
August 5, 1919, San Diego Union, 10:6. San Diego Municipal Golf Club planning to construct nine new holes, improve the entire course, and build a new club house on the site in Golden Hill Park; architect William Templeton Johnson has prepared plans for club house without cost; new members to pay $10.00 each; present members will pay 1920 dues in advance; donations will be sought and city will allot money.
August 6, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:4. READERS VIEWPOINT: William R. Moore wants the long canyon leading down near Florida Street to where the sandy but little used road intersects the boulevard near the stone bridge turned into a drive affording passage through the park to University Avenue (Powderhouse or Florida Canyon).
August 7, 1919, San Diego Union, Fleet Edition, 3:1-8. Photograph of sailors at review during war at Plaza de Panama.
August 8, 1919, San Diego Union, 7:3. Big dance on Plaza de Panama last night for visiting sailors.
August 9, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:8, 4:3. Secretary of Navy Josephus Daniels spoke to 25,000 persons at Organ Pavilion last night; introduced by Governor W. D. Stephens; entire speech given; conclusion: “I have no doubt that as the American people mobilized for war and won it, won it by faith and sacrifice, that we have highly resolved that the fruits of that war shall be garnered, and the covenant of peace shall give to America and to the world a peace that shall bless us and all future generations.”
August 9, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:6. Mrs. Daniel visits bluejackets at Exposition and is entertained at home of Mrs. Claus Spreckels.
August 9, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:3-6. Photographs of Pacific fleet sailors picnic in Balboa Park; basket picnic provided by War Camp Community Service; held on Sixth Street entrance extending from Kalmia some distance past the Exposition entrance on Laurel; military band supplied music.
August 10, 1919, San Diego Union, Society and Club, 1:1-2, 3:4. Mrs. Daniels given reception and tea in board rooms at California Building, Balboa Park, Thursday afternoon; Spanish dancers and musicians of old Exposition brought here from Los Angeles for occasion.
August 12, 1919, San Diego Union, 11:3. State societies plan big picnic next Saturday at Balboa Park; it is estimated that most of 15,000 members will attend; Science of Man Building will be used for registration room; program of speeches will be given in auditorium of Indian Arts Building; basket picnic at Pepper Grove.
August 14, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:2. A real tractor demonstration at the park’s Model Farm is one of the features arranged for the county fair.
August 15, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:3. Fifty five members of Massachusetts Forestry Association examined grounds, trees and shrubbery at Balboa Park yesterday.
August 16, 1919, San Diego Union, 8:2-5. State societies will picnic at Balboa Park today.
August 17, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:5-6. “Get Together” basket picnic in Balboa Park made occasion for declarations of faith in California and San Diego.
August 17, 1919, San Diego Union, 7:5. Bi-monthly “Community Sing” to be held at Organ Pavilion this afternoon.
August 18, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:8, 7:3. One million dollar Naval Hospital at Balboa park is assurance from Washington; 15 acres required from city; site selected for proposed building on Inspiration Point must be donated by San Diego as a first step; Council to consider matter today; tentative plans for structure will be submitted to Secretary Daniels upon his return to national capitol; hospital will be between 300 and 500 beds; 30 patients were removed from the various ships to the present hospital in Balboa Park when the fleet was in; expect approximately 200 patients a month when the entire fleet is mobilized on Pacific coast.
August 19, 1919, San Diego Union, 14:1-2. Council is prepared to deed lands asked by government; gist of answer to Daniels; proposed transfers include sites for navy yards, repair stations, piers and 18 acres in Balboa Park for Naval Hospital; Congressman Kettner appeared before Council yesterday to expedite matters.
August 30, 1919, Letter, Executive Secretary, Board of Park Commissioners, to Congressman William Kettner requesting Kettner to exert his influence to expedite payment of Park Department claims of $5,085.24 to cover repairs and replacements of buildings and grounds against U. S. Navy; agreement approved by Secretary of Navy, June 1919 (Board of Park Commissioners, Box 1, A-R – 1919, San Diego Public Library).
September 3, 1919. Seventeen acres deeded to United States Government for a Naval Hospital in Balboa Park.
September 4, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:3-6. Seven glorious day seeing San Diego. 2nd Day: Balboa Park ant the City, by Publicity Bureau, San Diego Chamber of Commerce.
Buffalo, deer, lions, bears, monkeys and a large variety of all animals are housed in different parts of the park.
September 5, 1919, Board of Park Commissioners, Letters (?), Minutes (?). Control of Municipal Golf Course reverted to City Park Department; all money from sale of tickets to be turned over to the Executive Secretary and receipts checked.
September 6, 1919, San Diego Union, Classified, 9:4. John Francis Barron, U S. N., will sing a group of his songs at the Organ Pavilion on Sunday afternoon. Barron was a member of the crew of subchaser 287 when it suffered a serious explosion in the harbor some weeks ago and his life was despaired of at the time.
September 7, 1919, San Diego Union, 8:3-4. San Diego with naval improvement in prospect destined to become home of Pacific fleet.
September 7, 1919, San Diego Union, Society-Club, 6:4. County Fair offices moved to International Harvester Building in Balboa Park.
The offices of the county fair have been moved out to Balboa park and are in the International Harvester building. The carpenters have completed their work in several of the buildings to be used, and the main building which will house the local industrial and mercantile exhibits will be ready for installation of booths tomorrow or Tuesday.
September 8, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:6. $102,444 raised to purchase site for naval base; fifth day of drive for funds.
September 9, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:1. Plans for hospital announced; dozen of more buildings of Spanish architecture to go up in Balboa Park at cost of about $2,000,000; announcement yesterday by Bureau of Yards and Docks; plans and specifications being drawn by Commander Frederick W. Southworth of the Bureau of Yards and Docks, who is project manager of naval hospital; the architectural drawings are being drawn by Bertram Goodhue, famous New York architect.
September 12, 1919, Board of Park Commissioners. The Executive Secretary submitted a form of permit authorizing the Balboa Aviation Company to use the Infantry drill grounds as a flying field during such period as use of the field should meet with the approval of the Board; authority to sign and issue same was granted.
September 14, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:1-5. Complete resume of naval work on San Diego harbor.
September 14, 1919, San Diego Union, Society and Club, 3:4. Floral Association will hold annual flower show as part of County Fair in Balboa Park.
September 14, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:4. Miss Inez Anderson, contralto, will be heard Sunday at Organ Pavilion.
September 16, 1919, San Diego Union, 9:3-4. Stadium will be open to all alike when President Wilson speaks to San Diego; executive committee of Chamber of Commerce to make no reservations.
September 17, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:6-7, 5:3-4. President will be heard by largest crowd here; Magnavox will enable packed Stadium to get every world of Wilson’s speech Friday.
September 18, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:2-3, 2:5-6. Half-holiday is set to honor President; Mayor issues proclamation; plans to escort Mr. Wilson into city; throngs to greet executive on Broadway and at Stadium.
September 19, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:8, 5:2-3. Stage set for grand reception.
September 20, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:1-2, 5:3. More than 50,000 hear President Wilson defend League of Nations; features of his entertainment were a visit to Exposition grounds, a dinner at the U. S. Grant Hotel, and a reception in the hotel lobby.
September 20, 1919, San Diego Union, 6, 7. Largest audience of entire tour greeted President Wilson when he spoke to 50,000 persons at Stadium.
September 20, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:1-2. President and Mrs. Wilson Hear Spreckels Organ in Brief Stop On Way to Stadium Gathering
A Union reporter and three other persons got a close-up view of President and Mrs. Wilson when the car in which they were riding yesterday afternoon slowed down at the Spreckels Organ Pavilion in Balboa Park for a moment for the President and the first lady of the land to her the piece being played by Dr. Humphrey J. Stewart, official organist.
The reporter would have got closer but was waved back by one of the street service men, who stepped from the running board of the car saying:
“Some power in that organ,” with a look that meant, “Don’t go any closer to the President.”
The official car started and the secret service man ran back to his place on the running board.
It was not generally known that the President’s car would stop at the great outdoor organ, and, anyway, practically the entire population of the city was gathered at the stadium awaiting his arrival there.
Dr. Stewart, however, had been notified by the committee in charge of the arrangements for the automobile ride through the park that the President and Mrs. Wilson would be there.
As soon as he saw their car approaching he began to play “Pomp and Circumstance,” a military march by Edward Elgar, and the tones of the great organ were heard by members of the party long after they had passed through the Plaza de Panama.
September 20, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:7-8. President’s automobile lost for time in mazes of Balboa Park on journey to Stadium.
September 21, 1919, 8:2-3. County Fair to be ready for opening on Wednesday, September 24; hundreds of workmen and decorators putting things in readiness for throng of visitors expected; Human Ad parade to be feature of opening night.
September 23, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:1. Fund for Navy site climbing; reports at noon meeting show more than $6,000 added by day’s work; “it must be done” is motto.
San Diego must raise $250,000 to donate the site for the naval training station. $156,834 raised to date.
September 23, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:2-4. Carnival spirit to reign on opening night of San Diego’s first annual county fair; full program during day; public may enter grounds at 9 a.m. tomorrow; stock prizes to be awarded.
September 24, 1919, San Diego Union, 9:2-3. Exhibits at county fair open today; range from white mice to tractors; everything in readiness in Balboa Park for annual event; formal addresses 8:30 tonight by Mayor Wilde, Supervisor Foster and President Drinkwater; educational department to present interesting feature; open-air dance.
September 25, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:2-3. Educational exhibit shown by beekeepers.
Mr. Hanson said yesterday: “Be sure to visit this section in Building No. 10 and do not hesitate to ask questions on any phase of the industry in which you may be interested.”
September 25, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:1. County Fair furnished Rotary luncheon motif at the U. S. Grant Hotel today.
The Rotary Club will assist in making the county fair a success by presenting Miss Ellen Beech Yaw in concert in the Commerce and Industry building. An admission of 50 cents will admit to the Fair and concert as well.
September 25, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:2, 7:4. Thousands throng grounds at opening of county fair; County Supervisor Joseph Foster says, “the grandest fair that San Diego ever held.”
A crowd variously estimated at 7,000 to 10,000 saw the opening of the first big fair last night.
A public dance, open-air music in several parts of the grounds, the crowded exhibit buildings,
addresses in the Merchants’ and Manufacturers’ building, the human parade and many other
things kept the big crowd entertained until well along toward midnight.
The building that, during the exposition was the Home Industries building, has been appropriately changed in name to the Merchant’s and Manufacturers’ building temporarily.
Agricultural and horticultural exhibits of a general character showing samples of produce from all parts of the county fill the old Cristobal café.
Farther down the drive and in another building are competitive exhibits of numerous varieties of chickens, turkeys, geese, ducks and rabbits.
In a separate building — the old International Harvester building — the various branches of the San Diego farm bureau hold forth.
The livestock pens and stalls are in the tractor sheds of exposition time, at the northern extremity of Alameda drive – rechristened Pumpkin alley.
September 25, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:3. Will play new fox trot at County Fair dance tonight and Saturday night.
On both occasions handsome silver Olive Thomas cups will be presented to the winning couples by Myron Selznick, president of the Selznick Feature corporation.
September 26, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:1-2. Second day of San Diego County Fair big success; educational exhibit, feature; teachers of lower grades use grounds as schoolroom where exhibits furnished instruction and entertainment for classes; livestock displays attract attention; other sections come in for share; Rotary program tonight.
Of the numerous exhibits in the Merchants and Manufacturers’ building, so many might be called especially good that it is impossible to describe or even list them all. One that holds an interested crowd is not a mercantile or manufacturing exhibit, but shows the result of carelessness with regard to fire on the part of campers. It is produced by representatives of the U. S. Forest Service.
September 26, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:3, Weather Bureau set up at Fair; H. F. Alciatore denies his weather gauge is fireless cooker and will explain all about it.
September 27, 1919, San Diego Union, 2:2-4. Farmers say County Fair will be made annual event; President Drinkwater calls conference and all favor repeating show yearly; gates will be closed after tonight; estimated 10,000 visited grounds yesterday, which would bring the total for the three days close to 18,000.
September 27, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:5-6. San Diego Museum Notes.
September 28, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:4-5. County Fair is brought to close with real bang; ringing of bells, blowing of horns mark ending of exhibition; masked dancers hold sway; all pleased and enthusiastic for another in 1920.
September 28, 1919, San Diego Union, 11:3-4. Block campaign drive in naval base fund is ended; subscriptions to continue; $177,925.50 raised to date.
September 29, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:4. New firm ready to rush work on U. S. Marine post; W. P. Haskell of Federal Construction Company says forces have been reorganized; work in constructing the group of six permanent barracks is now nearly five months behind schedule due to the financial and other troubles in which the Dawson Company became involved.
September 29, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:4. Brigadier General J. H. Pendleton, U. S. M. C., comes to assume command of the new created Pacific coast brigade of marines and will establish headquarters at San Diego.
September 29, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:5-6. County Farm Bureau heads work for fair next year; officers feel that festival just ended was so successful that all efforts should be made to repeat it during years to come; 33,000 entered gate
October, 1919, Board of Park Commissioners, Superintendent’s Report. During the month the San Diego County Fair was held in the Exposition grounds and was well attended, there being over 40,000 paid admissions. The percentage of the Park Department amounted to $612.50.
October 7, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:1, 4:3-7, 5:5. Mayor Wilde offers his resignation providing George W. Marston be appointed by the Council as his successor; Marston declines post.
October 10, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:4, 5:1-4. The Grant Exalted Ruler of the Elks pledged undivided allegiance to Unites States in meeting at Organ Pavilion last night; Elks holding convention in city.
October 18, 1919, Letter, Executive Secretary, Board of Park Commissioners, to Secretary-in-charge, Y. M. C. A. requesting footballs and baseballs not be issued for use on the Plaza de Panama to protect city property and persons who visit the park; light gloves and windshields of passing machines have been broken and several people have been struck by balls (San Diego Public Library, Box 1, S-Z, 1919).
October 23, 1919, San Diego Union, 9:1. Ellen Beech Yaw, soprano, will sing at Organ Pavilion, November 2.
October 25, 1919, San Diego Sun, 10:4. San Diego will honor the memory of Theodore Roosevelt tomorrow with exercises at the Organ Pavilion in Balboa Park.
October 26, 1919, San Diego Union, 8:2-3. Plans to celebrate Red Cross Day at Organ Pavilion next Sunday.
October 26, 1919, San Diego Union, 11:3. War Community Service, aided by patriotic bodies, will honor memory of Theodore Roosevelt at Organ Pavilion today.
October 27, 1919, San Diego Union, Classified, 9:2-3. War Service Organizations pay honor to Theodore Roosevelt.
October 29, 1919, San Diego Sun, 11:1. Frank H. Ehmke appointed temporary superintendent of playgrounds; certified today by Civil Service Commission; position made vacant by resignation of Captain James L. King.
October 29, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:1. Prohibition Act becomes law; Senate passes dry bill.
November 1, 1919, San Diego Sun, 14:3-4. Will build new homes for animals in zoo; work begins at once.
A new home for the animals at the Zoo will commence at once.
Three big bear pits are to be constructed in Cabrillo canyon just as soon as the plans can be drawn and the work started. According to Dr. Harry Wegeforth, president of the San Diego Zoological Society, at a recent meeting of the board of directors, the society decided to spend the $1300 on hand for construction of the bears’ new home, which is needed most, and it is hoped money can be raised to provide better quarters for the other heavy animals belonging to the zoo when the bear pits are finished.
It was at first contemplated to use this money to have drawn up a comprehensive, forward-looking plan for a zoological garden, the equal of the finest in the country, and which it was expected would be built in installments covering a number of years. A skilled landscape artist was to have been employed to lay out the gardens in the canyon above Cabrillo bridge. Limited funds and urgent need of safer quarters for the bears forced the directors to abandon this plan and use what money is now on hand to construct the bear pits.
The bear pits will be built in the canyon just below the building in Balboa park where the animal exhibit was held during the county fair. They will follow natural conditions as nearly as possible in design, and will be in the bottom of the canyon so that the bears may be viewed from above, according to Dr. Harry Wegeforth, president of the society.
Caesar, the Alaskan Kodiac bear cub, has grown so huge and powerful that he frequently stands up and playfully pushes the roof of his cage. His present weight is about 1400 pounds and being the kind he is, will grow to tremendous proportions. At birth Caesar weighed eight ounces and when the society secured him, he was a meek little fellow with playful ways. He was brought here from Kodiac island on a government vessel and while still a sailor Caesar made a practice of running down the gang plank and crowding off into the water those who happened to be on it. He wasn’t mean about it. But there wasn’t room for men and the bear and it didn’t occur to Caesar to given anyone else a chance. He is one of the very few Kodiac bears in captivity and San Diego is fortunate to have so fine a specimen. It is said there are but six species of Kodiac bear known and that it is impossible to tell the difference between them until the bears are killed and dissected. Caesar will soon have a roomy pit in the canyon and an opportunity for expansion and growth.
While it is the policy of the Zoological society to keep only those animals who require the kind of climate found in San Diego, yet the polar bear has been retained because he has thrived. He has gained 40 pounds since the society acquired him. This bear has traveled all over the world and is one of three survivors of a group of ten polar bears owned by the Hagenbeck circus. Most of these bears were killed because they turned vicious and unsafe. The white bear here has so far adjusted himself patiently to the circumstances and is tractable enough. His it will include a large tank of cold water in which to disport himself. The third bear will accommodate the two other bears owned by the society.
Probably no animals at the Zoo attract so much attention as the white and black spider monkeys. “Jerry,” the little black fellow, has become a San Diego institution. The antics and accomplishments of this pair is the constant delight of the children and old folks too. They all fall for them. It is a treat to watch the white monkey hand suspended by his hands and feet and thrust the long prehensile tail through the wire of his cage to accept peanuts. The tails of these monkeys are useful as a fifth hand. Prohibition means nothing to Jerry’s young life. When he wants the joy of feeling indefinite and dizzy, he hangs by his tail from the ring and spins himself around with his hands until the desired degree of “jag’ is attained. Then he lets go and waltzes giddily about the cage. Shame on you, Jerry.
San Diego Zoological society is patterned after the Bronx Zoological society of New York city. All animals, birds and snakes collected become city property. The city contributes $200 a month to support the inhabitants of the Zoo. Money that is contributed is applied to the fund for building a permanent home for them in Balboa park.
Dr. Harry Wegeforth is president of the society, F. M. Faulconer, secretary; Joe Sefton, treasurer; and the directors are Frank Stevens, William Moore and Dr. Fred Baker.
November 3, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:1. Red Cross opens drive at Organ Pavilion.
November 3, 1919, San Diego Union, 16:1. Ellen Beech Yaw saw to large audience at Organ Pavilion yesterday afternoon.
November 4, 1919, Letter, John Morley, to Mr. Theodore Wirth, Supt. of Parks, Minneapolis, Minn.
Dear Mr. Wirth:-
Your letter as to auto tourists camping grounds received. We furnish camping grounds for autos free of charge. A section of the Park has been set aside for the purpose and equipped with water and toilet facilities.
We are later going to furnish fire places and wood from the trimmings of the trees in the Park Department and charge a nominal price for the service, probably 25 cents to 50 cents per day according to the number in the party, so we can make the camp self-sustaining with a man in charge.
We average 15 machines a day and we have has as many as 58. Some stay one day and others for several days and we have had parties stay for a month.
At one time the Hotel Association protested to the Commission, as they claimed it took business away from the Hotels. They have, however, changed their minds and find from experience that auto parties who camp out do not patronize the Hotels.
I believe camping grounds should be provided as it is an inducement for auto parties to stay over a few days in the city and they are bound to spend considerable money even though they do not stay at Hotels.
Yours very truly,
November 5, 1919, San Diego Sun, 1:1-2. Grant Conard, ex-mayor, is dead.
November 5, 1919, San Diego Union, 5:1-2. County Women’s Clubs meet in annual convention in Indian Arts Building, Balboa Park.
November 6, 1919, San Diego Sun, 3:3-4. Three million-year old specie of prehistoric ancestors unearthed in Balboa Park.
November 9, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:4-5. Legion will hold first memorial service this afternoon at Organ Pavilion.
November 10, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:4-5. Legion memorial service.
November 11,1919, San Diego Union, 6:3. Honors to dead to be paid in peace program at Stadium
November 12, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:5, 8:1-2. Patriotic service at Balboa Park Stadium.
November 16, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:1. John D. Spreckels drove golden spike which completed San Diego Arizona and Eastern Railroad at Carrizo Gorge.
November 25, 1919, Letter, Executive Secretary, Board of Park Commissioners, to Mrs. A. B. Spreckels, 2080 Washington Street, San Francisco, Calif.
By direction of Mr. John Forward, Jr., of the Board of Park Commissioners, I am enclosing herewith photographs of the New Mexico State Building in Balboa Park.
The structure is in excellent condition and subject to being made a permanent building at comparatively small expense.
It is one of the most artistic and beautiful bits of architecture in the park, and I regret that I am prevented from securing photographs of the courtyard, chapel and other attractive features by reason of the fact that the premises are occupied by the U. S. Marine Corps as a supply depot.
If you should desire information regarding amount of space, size, number and location of rooms, we shall be very glad to have floors plans made and forwarded to you.
Very truly yours,
November 26, 1919, San Diego Sun, 1:6. Bonds for progress pass in landslide; Barrett Dam; Tide Street Paving; Otay pipeline; city pier.
November 26, 1919, San Diego Union, Classified, 11:4. Old Timers’ Association plan picnic to be held in park Thursday afternoon.
November 29, 1919, San Diego Sun, 7:1-3. San Diego women to be active during week in entertaining visitors for the transcontinental railway celebration at Women’s Headquarters, Balboa Park.
December 1, 1919, San Diego Sun, 18:5. Formal ceremonies at Organ Pavilion this afternoon to open Transcontinental Week.
December 1, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:5-6. John D. Spreckels Day; parade from Union Station to Balboa Park; formal exercises Spreckels Organ Pavilion; reception Women’s Board, California Building.
December 2, 1919, San Diego Sun, 1:2-3. Water carnival feature of railroad celebration.
December 2, 1919, San Diego Sun, 3:4-5. Speakers pay tribute to John D. Spreckels at Organ Pavilion.
December 2, 1919, San Diego Sun, 7:1-2. Fries’ art exhibit in Fine Arts Building will be continued another week.
December 2, 1919, San Diego Sun, II, 9:1-2. Women hold open house in Park this week.
December 2, 1919, San Diego Union, 7:5. Few San Diego people realize the possibilities of the Exposition buildings and grounds as settings for motion pictures until they have seen “Soldiers of Fortune,” now running at Cabrillo Theater; picture made here last May.
December 3, 1919, San Diego Sun, 1:3-7. Night pageant finest in West.
December 3,1919, San Diego Sun, 2:1-2. Stadium features will be crowning event today.
December 3, 1919, San Diego Sun, II, 9:3-4. Harbor Day bill; aquatic sports at city pier.
December 3, 1919, San Diego Union, 11:4-5. Elaborate plans made for Balboa Park Day tomorrow; reception expected to be largest given by San Diego women for Transcontinental Week visitors; Naval and Marine officers and wives to be guests.
December 4, 1919, San Diego Sun, 1:5. Belcher says Balboa Park Day festivities will not be canceled because of weather.
December 4, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:1. Balboa Park Day: program in park — organ recital; Tommasino Royal Band concert; luncheon at Cristobal Café; luncheon in rear of Canadian Building; hog sale at Tractor Building; public dancing on Plaza de Panama (2 to 3 p.m.); reception Women’s Board rooms, Fine Arts Building; exhibit in San Diego Museum buildings; automobile exhibit in Varied Industries Building; floral exhibit by San Diego Floral Association.
December 4, 1919, San Diego Union, 1:5. Ten thousand spectators saw Roman chariot races in Stadium last night as part of Stadium Day program; 2,000 schoolchildren formed flag.
December 5, 1919, San Diego Sun, 1:2. “All aboard” for big fete in El Centro; San Diegans invade Imperial Valley.
December 6, 1919, San Diego Sun, 1:6. Imperial Valley and San Diego joined.
December 6, 1919, San Diego Sun, 8:1. Baron Long located in San Diego; takes over U. S. Grant Hotel and plans improvements.
December 6, 1919, San Diego Sun, 12:1-2. Local artists may occupy studios in Sacramento Building.
December 10, 1919, San Diego Sun, 10:7-8. Initial steps taken to open a Community Theater playhouse.
December 13, 1919, San Diego Sun, 17:3-5.Ceasar will have new home in canyon; big bear pit is nearing completion (Sketch drawn by The Sun’s staff artist showing the new bear pit as it will appear when it is completed), by Wallace Hamilton.
The new bear pits and cages which the San Diego Zoological society is building in Cabrillo canyon will be as fine as any in the country, according to Dr. Harry Wegeforth, president of the society. Construction was commenced several weeks ago, and Mead and Requa, architects, promise that the bears’ new home will be ready for them with six weeks.
San Diego now has an unusually fine collection of bears. The need of adequate quarters for them has been felt for a long time, but until recently a lack of funds has made it impossible for the society to build. The den, which is under construction, includes three pits and three cages of ample dimensions. It is so built as to allow visitors a splendid view of the bears without the slightest personal danger. Moreover the natural conformation of the canyon has been considered in laying out the pits and cages, the result being very realistic.
Caesar, the great Kodiac bear, will occupy one cage and pit alone. This splendid example of the Bruin family is the largest meat-eating animal in captivity. He has grown so in size that his present cage of board and iron bars will scarcely hold him. At maturity Caesar will weigh almost a ton [2,240 pounds]. The polar bear, belonging to the society, will also occupy a cage by himself. Contrary to expectations, this animal, whose natural habitat is the snow and ice country in the north, has thrived here. The California black bear and his cousin, the brown bear from Canada, will occupy the third pit and cage together.
The building of the bear pits is a part of a comprehensive plan contemplated by the society to construct in Cabrillo canyon a zoo that will be second to none in the country. This, of course, is looking far into the future, but the society feels that a definite building program commenced now and accomplished as funds permit, will effect a saving of money and effort in the long run. At the present time insufficient funds are in the possession of the Zoological society to complete the bear pits. Money in small amounts is being contributed, however, and it is hoped that enough will be accumulated by the time the pits are complete to pay for the work. The shortage at present is about $200.,
Joe Mutters, keeper at the Zoo, is enthusiastic about the new home for his bears. But he wants to see his lions properly caged when the bears have been cared for. The only way this can be accomplished will be through donations of loyal San Diegans and such funds as the society may raise by public entertainments. There have been so many calls for money here of late that the society has kept in the background. But the need of permanent quarters for the animals is very great.
The bear pit under construction is situated in an arm of Cabrillo canyon at the eastern end of the Tractor building. The back wall, made of heavy concrete, is roughly 75 feet long. The north wall, which follows the contour of the slope, is 73 feet in length. As the south wall is but 42 feet long, it will be seen that the den is roughly pear-shaped.
The inside walls throughout will rise eight feet sheer, topped by a 3-foot wall of chain wire. A cheval-de-frize of pointed steel bars, bent inward and down, will fringe the top of the wall to prevent the bears from climbing out or reaching persons behind the visitors’ wall. Barb wire will be strung in such a manner above the chain-wire screen that thoughtless children cannot possibly climb into the pits.
It is an unusual feature of the bears’ den that visitors may view the bears in safety while standing on the edge of the pits. An unobstructed view may be had from all four sides and with easy approach.
Cage doors will be automatically operated from the outside. The pools, which will be provided for the bears, may be filled, emptied and cleaned from the outside. In each cage a large lopped-off pepper tree is to be planted to afford amusement for the bears and to exercise their climbing powers. The pits may be drained and cleaned from the outside also.
December 15, 1919, San Diego Union, 2:1-2. Theater Arts Guild plans community theater in Balboa Park; hopes to secure room in Sacramento Building which is already partially fitted up for dramatic performances.
December 16, 1919, Letter, Arthur F. Wright to Board of Park Commissioners:
“It is my opinion that to lease a considerable portion of Balboa Park to ‘Denishawn’ would be merely to devote a portion of Balboa Park to private use, and the Board of Park Commissioners has no authority to do so.”
December 17, 1919, San Diego Sun, 4:5-6. Community Theater plans to open 12-week season; Art Guild is organized.
December 21, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:6. Patients at Navy Hospital to have Christmas cheer; plans being prepared by American Red Cross and local council of Knights of Columbus; program will be staged in Cristobal Café building Wednesday afternoon and evening.
December 22, 1919, San Diego Sun, 11:6. Community Theater plans progressing.
December 24, 1919, San Diego Sun, 2:4-5. Streets are crowded with Merry Christmas throngs as wonderful day is near.
December 25, 1919, San Diego Sun, 1:4-5. Elks’ Chanters will sing Christmas carols tonight in Balboa Park; Spanish balcony is scene.
December 26, 1919, San Diego Union, 6:3. Elk’s Chanters sang carols at Plaza de Panama last night; thousands attended outdoor Christmas festival; weather ideal.
December 27, 1919, San Diego Union, 4:1. EDITORIAL: The Elks’ Chanters
On Christmas night of this year, so unobtrusively that many citizens did not know what was happening, the Elks’ Chanters sang to all who cared to listen, in the Plaza de Panama of Balboa Park.
December 29, 1919, San Diego Sun, 1:1-2. Mayor Wilde jumps on Councilman Weitzel.
Return to Amero Collection.
BALBOA PARK HISTORY
1900 | 1901 | 1902 | 1903 | 1904
1905 | 1906 | 1907 | 1908 | 1909
1910 | 1911 | 1912 | 1913 | 1914
1915 | 1916 | 1917 | 1918 | 1919
1920 | 1921 | 1922 | 1923 | 1924
1925 | 1926 | 1927 | 1928 | 1929
1930 | 1931 | 1932 | 1933 | 1934
1935 | 1936 | 1937 | 1938 | 1939
1940 | 1941 | 1942 | 1943 | 1944
1945 | 1946 | 1947 | 1948 | 1949
1950 | 1951 | 1952 | 1953 | 1954
1955 | 1956 | 1957 | 1958 | 1959
1960 | 1961 | 1962 | 1963 | 1964
1965 | 1966 | 1967 | 1968 | 1969
1970 | 1971 | 1972 | 1973 | 1974
1975 | 1976 | 1977 | 1978 | 1979
1980 | 1981 | 1982 | 1983 | 1984
1985 | 1986 | 1987 | 1988 | 1989
1990 | 1991 | 1992 | 1993 | 1994
1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999